We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olive Branch
Ranked #7 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Olive Branch for a long weekend. We had the open plan superior room, it was amazing. The Victorian roll top bath was perfect with a glass of champagne while watching the big T.V. Lovely views down Fore Street towards the Harbour. The breakfast was really yummy with lots to choose from. Paul and Carol were very friendly and helpful with ideas of where to eat in the evenings and various things to see and do. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Katie_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Carol and Paul were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was spotless with lovely views. Breakfast was excellent and made to order. I have stayed before and will definitely be returning.5*

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Trudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We received a warm welcome from Paul and Carol upon arrival. The room was clean and comfortable, parking not too far away for a reasonable price. Paul was happy to share local knowledge with you on where to go,eat and attractions to see. The breakfasts are delicious and you can eat in the restaurant of an evening with a guest discount. The area is wonderful and everyone makes you welcome. We have stayed here before and we are looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Paul and Carol for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Each room has different features, recommend you visit website and take a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouncing-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Clean, spacious room. Loved the roll top bath and a lovely view down to the harbour from our room. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating and breakfast was yummy. Thanks for a great relaxing stay :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roofiedoofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Paul who was really informative about local facilities including places to eat, drink and park. There is long stay 24 hour parking available for £3.10 near the harbour. We stayed in room 1 on the top floor and the views were great. The room was spotless, quality shampoo, conditioner, bath salts and gel were provided. The fridge, wine glasses, DVD player and a choice of DVD's were a lovely touch. We had a top quality breakfast which set us up for the day. we also had an amazing meal in the Olive Room in the evening which included a 15% discount for residents.
For the lovers of real ale, the North Devon CAMRA pub of the year (The Ship and Pilot) is only a couple of minutes walk away and a real suntrap.
We will definitely stay again ....Thank you Paul and Carol from Gary and Claire x

Room Tip: View from rooms 1 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A really fabulous place to stay within easy access to amenities,Paul and Carol were great hosts, the room was spotlessly clean,and comfortable,the breakfast superb,a real little gem in Ilfracombe,will certainly be returning. Highly recommended. Malcolm/Margaret Bristol.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolukMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Easy access to all amenities and carol and paul were perfect hosts we had friends visit so we ate in the restaurant saturday night which was excellent nice atmosphere will visit again and verity was fantastic i hope she brings more people to illfracombe





Room Tip: We thought a valance on the twin beds would have been nice but the beds were very very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 52 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#15 of 52 in Ilfracombe
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 52 in Ilfracombe
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: 56 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £72 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Branch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing