We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cream tea & cakes”

Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: CASH ONLY. SEASONAL: Opening 24th March, 25 and 26th and then everyday from Friday 31st March til Monday 17th April for Easter. Then Friday, Saturday, Sunday and BH in rest of April, May, June, September and October. Everyday EXCEPT Saturdays in July and August. Please see our leaflets and website for clarification - or phone us. . Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013, 2014 and 2015 and Highly Commended in Devon Tourism Awards 2016. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe Town centre in HELE (Combe Martin road A399). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items soup, sandwiches and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF/vegan scones if pre-ordered or not too busy. We do not sell main lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. Free entry to mill for unguided tours. Guided tours Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 4.30pm chargeable. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. Dogs welcome in tearooms and gardens although not in the mill itself. PARKING in Hele Bay Public Carpark (to left of Hele Bay Pub). Limited disabled parking - please phone in advance.We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill. See our website for details or give us a ring.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cream tea & cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nicely presented. Also offer gluten free - the almond and cherry cake was delicious. Hubby liked the cream tea. Also able to take some scones away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    63
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GandPtips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very good cream teas in a relaxed garden setting. Service wonderful. Surrounded by wildlife and greenery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GandPtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely location, we wouldn't have found it without reading the other reviews so we are glad we did. The tearoom was lovely and the ladies in the tearoom were very helpful and friendly We had the traditional cream tea, but the other cakes on offer looked delicious too. It was very nice to have a large teapot and mugs. We arrived at 11am which was opening time, there were only 2 other tables occupied at the time as we were quite early in the day. We will definitely be back for more next time we are in the area, thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic scones pretty setting very friendly staff, my son enjoyed the mill. Although it was raining and we had a dog we still had the gazebo to sit in while we ate our scones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Devina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Split! Devon Splits Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Never had this with a cream tea before, brioche like bread instead of a scone, fantastic! Best cream tea in Devon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing