We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cakes ever tasted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room

Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: CASH ONLY. SEASONAL: Opening 24th March, 25 and 26th and then everyday from Friday 31st March til Monday 17th April for Easter. Then Friday, Saturday, Sunday and BH in rest of April, May, June, September and October. Everyday EXCEPT Saturdays in July and August. Please see our leaflets and website for clarification - or phone us. . Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013, 2014 and 2015 and Highly Commended in Devon Tourism Awards 2016. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe Town centre in HELE (Combe Martin road A399). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items soup, sandwiches and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF/vegan scones if pre-ordered or not too busy. We do not sell main lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. Free entry to mill for unguided tours. Guided tours Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 4.30pm chargeable. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. Dogs welcome in tearooms and gardens although not in the mill itself. PARKING in Hele Bay Public Carpark (to left of Hele Bay Pub). Limited disabled parking - please phone in advance.We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill. See our website for details or give us a ring.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best cakes ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is an absolute find we stayed in the little cottage attached to the tea rooms and it was lovely. We had the most amazing scones upon arrival and treated ourselves to a cake in the cute little garden every day. It was difficult to decide on what to have , the peanut butter cake was the best cake I have ever tasted. The owners were extremely friendly and very helpful over our stay. Would definitely recommend and hope to return one day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    60
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Welcoming visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The lunch was good and the surroundings(a shop with delightful litems) were lovely. I bought several items for future presents.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is truly great and well worth a visit. Beautiful setting next to the old corn mill, the atmosphere is rural chic and incredibly relaxing. The food's amazing, served on pretty china by lovely staff. If you choose a tea shop in Hele, choose this one, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for cream teas late afternoon after being at Woolacombe beach for the day. The tea room is cosy. The scones were very nice and freshly baked. The lady serving was very friendly and took a real interest in her customers, particularly the children providing games and puzzles to keep them occupied. Lovely little place.

Helpful?
Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helemill, Owner at Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thanks for taking the trouble to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We try to keep children entertained so adults can enjoy a relaxing cream tea. Perhaps on a future visit you may like to try some of our other puzzles and teasers for adults too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and interesting mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

home made food in their pretty cafe. Interesting tour of the old mill still run by the water-wheel. Easy free parking. well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing