We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Well Worth a Visit

The mill and tea room are well worth a visit. The Mill brings the local history to life and the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
nigelw848
via mobile
Coeliac friendly afternoon tea

Delicious gluten free afternoon tea where so much care was taken for cross contamination - and it... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Leanneehren
via mobile
Read all 719 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
594
88
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
594
88
23
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes cream tea old mill chocolate cake water mill flour milled tea garden lovely owners little gem well worth a visit lovely setting car park teas miller devon savory lashings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Having read the glowing reviews we had great expectations of this venue. Whilst admittedly late October is no doubt not the best time to visit, the initial reception was quite abrupt and when asked if there was a lunch menu, the response was condescending, stating that as it was a tea room, lunch was not available. I therefore settled for a tin of Heinz tomato soup. The remainder of my party had scones and tea cakes which were of a good quality. Nonetheless the intitial frosty reception lingered and we felt disappointed with Ilfracombe's 'number one' attraction.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank DeborahJane456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2016

A friend of ours strongly recommended that we visit the Corn Mill for a cream tea and we were so glad that we do (so glad in fact that we went back again a few days later). We didn't visit the mill itself, only the tearoom. We had a cream tea and a savoury tea- the scones were fresh and warm, with heaps of jam, cream, chutney and cream cheese. I also had a bit of chocolate malteaser cake, which was delicious- really light and fluffy. Great value, friendly service and a delightful tea-room and our door seating area. We will definitely return! There is also a small gift shop selling local craft items.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank ChrissyA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We'd bumped into reviews about Hele Corn Mill on previous visits but this was the first time it's been open- as it we are usually in Devon during October. We'd walked from Ilfracombe which was also a beautiful walk and ended up at the mill on the Friday afternoon when it was open! Amen! This was really the BEST cream tea we've ever had! The scones were warm and freshly baked! All the cakes on offer looked amazing and again freshly made! We'll be back next year and as it will be my 60th, we'll book a high tea at the Corn Mill during the week for the whole family (16 of us)! I really can't recommend the Mill highly enough as the tea rooms were so cosy and eating outside was beautiful and the garden great for children THEN you also have the working water wheel! A must if you're in the area!!!!!❤️❤️👏👏

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank JulieIles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Wonderful tea, cakes and pastie. There was a great choice of such beautiful looking food. In fact I think it was the best cream tea I've ever had. The service we experienced was excellent and the owners were such nice people, taking the time to talk to us which is something you don't get so much of these days. We felt very welcome.

It was worth driving all the way up from south Devon, it is a fantastic place.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely, friendly and sociable owners in cosy mill shop. Warm, delicious homemade scones, the most delicious jam and clotted cream. Lovely cream tea.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews