We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Amazing Cream Tea

Wow, wow, wow.....what a place. Hidden away, a beautiful tea room & mill run by a lovely couple, so... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
749sharynv
,
Redhill, United Kingdom
Best tea cake and excellent scones

Charming outdoor tea room situated next to a renovated floor mill. The scones were amazing, crunchy... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
catstuart1
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Read all 712 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
587
88
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
587
88
23
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes cream tea old mill chocolate cake water mill flour milled tea garden lovely owners little gem well worth a visit lovely setting car park teas miller devon savory lashings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely visit to the tea room, and the owners couldn't do enough for us. Our 4 year old was given a grand selection of treats as an alternative to his first choice of ice cream (temporary freezer fault that day!) and was enchanted by the toy he was given to play with. Our cream tea and cake was melt in the mouth delicious and we felt so comfortable we didn't want to leave! Can't recommend highly enough.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It's not easy to find this but if you keep going you come across it hidden in the plants. Unless they've cut them back.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Having read the glowing reviews we had great expectations of this venue. Whilst admittedly late October is no doubt not the best time to visit, the initial reception was quite abrupt and when asked if there was a lunch menu, the response was condescending, stating that as it was a tea room, lunch was not available. I therefore settled for a tin of Heinz tomato soup. The remainder of my party had scones and tea cakes which were of a good quality. Nonetheless the intitial frosty reception lingered and we felt disappointed with Ilfracombe's 'number one' attraction.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank DeborahJane456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2016

A friend of ours strongly recommended that we visit the Corn Mill for a cream tea and we were so glad that we do (so glad in fact that we went back again a few days later). We didn't visit the mill itself, only the tearoom. We had a cream tea and a savoury tea- the scones were fresh and warm, with heaps of jam, cream, chutney and cream cheese. I also had a bit of chocolate malteaser cake, which was delicious- really light and fluffy. Great value, friendly service and a delightful tea-room and our door seating area. We will definitely return! There is also a small gift shop selling local craft items.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank ChrissyA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We'd bumped into reviews about Hele Corn Mill on previous visits but this was the first time it's been open- as it we are usually in Devon during October. We'd walked from Ilfracombe which was also a beautiful walk and ended up at the mill on the Friday afternoon when it was open! Amen! This was really the BEST cream tea we've ever had! The scones were warm and freshly baked! All the cakes on offer looked amazing and again freshly made! We'll be back next year and as it will be my 60th, we'll book a high tea at the Corn Mill during the week for the whole family (16 of us)! I really can't recommend the Mill highly enough as the tea rooms were so cosy and eating outside was beautiful and the garden great for children THEN you also have the working water wheel! A must if you're in the area!!!!!❤️❤️👏👏

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank JulieIles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews