We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends' local”
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
Ranked #59 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: A friendly welcoming country Pub/Restaurant with a warm atmosphere. Children and pets most welcome. Large parking facilities, walled beer garden. Sunday Carvery and Specials Evenings. Fine Real Ales & home-made food. Excellent walks amongst beautiful scenery in the area.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Friends' local”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Visited this pub, which is my friends' local, while staying the weekend with them. We only had a drink on this occasion but there was a good range of real ales and ciders and the pub is a nice typically English pub. the small garden at the back is very pleasant and there are also tables out the front.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Real ale, cider and friendly locals. The pub is traditional and as the sun goes down its got outdoor seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice enough pub but miserable landlord”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had a meal here one night as the George and Dragon was full. The place was more or less empty when we arrived but soon filled up.

Meal was OK and the girl who served them was pleasant enough. The Landlord collected the dirty plates etc afterwards............not a word was spoken, no thank you , smile or asking if the meal was OK. Then he dropped some of the dirty cutlery off the plates and a knife hit my leg resulting with gravy running down it. Not a word , apology or anything from the landlord even though I bent down and picked the knife and handed it to him.
When my husband was served by him at the bar it seemed like an inconvenience to have to actually serve him the drinks.

One thing he was efficient with was re-stocking the ladies loo roll. He had a female member of staff visiting every few minutes to check the toilets out after customers had used it.

Not a place our custom felt appreciated and I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad little pub”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went here dinner one evening while in ilfracombe with a group of 8 people, two of them being children. It is small and dark inside with very low ceilings but its supposed to be one of the oldest pubs in the area. It did seem a little mis match a untidy and from the large outside appearance of the building very small inside. The drinks were ok apart from the two cans of coke which were cheap imported cans with eu labels on them, beer was cold. The food for the price was very good, it wasn't anything too fancy but very good value for money and seemed mostly homemade. Loads of special boards up. I would stop in again if passing but wouldn't go out of my way to find it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Nice cold pint of cider served by a landlord who looked like we were interrupting him using his iPad.
Ordered the surf and turf.
Steak was warm at best also the peas on luke warm side
Scampi and chips were tasty and hot but side order of mushrooms again cold.
Meals were served without a word and no comment from the landlord. He did appear to chat to the locals though. Didn't hang around for dessert. Left mid pint.
Not somewhere I would return to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nozzy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince of Wales also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing