We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Pub”
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
Ranked #60 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: A friendly welcoming country Pub/Restaurant with a warm atmosphere. Children and pets most welcome. Large parking facilities, walled beer garden. Sunday Carvery and Specials Evenings. Fine Real Ales & home-made food. Excellent walks amongst beautiful scenery in the area.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seaside Pub”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ate here on the night before we sailed to Lundy Island for a short break. Food was OK - nothing special and the Rump Steak in the Surf and Turf was definitely not cooked to my liking - well done not medium ! However the atmosphere was fine and we enjoyed local beer and a glass of white wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and well cooked pub food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Called in here on the off chance on a weekend in Ilfracombe. Service was very quick and the food was very well cooked. Had a sharing starter - breaded mushrooms, chicken nuggets, potato wedges and onion rings with a mayo dip and a BBQ dip. We both had sausage, egg and chips which was cooked perfectly. May not be the most elaborate meal, but if cooked properly, is lovely. The house wine to accompany the meal was very palatable. We enjoyed the meal so much, we had lunch there the following day. The baguettes were well prepared and very tasty (sausage and onion and Cajun chicken, mayo and salad). I would thoroughly recommend this pub to any visitors to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank axiswidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Friends' local”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Visited this pub, which is my friends' local, while staying the weekend with them. We only had a drink on this occasion but there was a good range of real ales and ciders and the pub is a nice typically English pub. the small garden at the back is very pleasant and there are also tables out the front.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Real ale, cider and friendly locals. The pub is traditional and as the sun goes down its got outdoor seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice enough pub but miserable landlord”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had a meal here one night as the George and Dragon was full. The place was more or less empty when we arrived but soon filled up.

Meal was OK and the girl who served them was pleasant enough. The Landlord collected the dirty plates etc afterwards............not a word was spoken, no thank you , smile or asking if the meal was OK. Then he dropped some of the dirty cutlery off the plates and a knife hit my leg resulting with gravy running down it. Not a word , apology or anything from the landlord even though I bent down and picked the knife and handed it to him.
When my husband was served by him at the bar it seemed like an inconvenience to have to actually serve him the drinks.

One thing he was efficient with was re-stocking the ladies loo roll. He had a female member of staff visiting every few minutes to check the toilets out after customers had used it.

Not a place our custom felt appreciated and I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince of Wales also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing