We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant

Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Service is perfect, attentive helpful staff. Food during the week is very good. Sunday lunch almost as good. If you want an evening meal in Hele this is the place to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    141
    50
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The place has a pub atmosphere rather than that of a restaurant. We ordered white wine with our meal, which arrived a bit warm but a cooler was provided upon request. The food (fish) however was good and the price very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fisherab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Proper little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Lived in North Devon all my life and driven past this place hundreds of times. Decided to go out somewhere different so booked. The food is amazing, such a homely feel! Portions are generous and price is extremely reasonable! If you have not been then get booking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a lovely meal here while on holiday. The cater well for kids too! We were going to go back but we packed up a night early due to weather... But we would have gone back if we had stayed longer :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a must of a restaurant whenever we are in Ilfracombe. The food is always excellent and very good value for money. Very friendly proprietor and there is always a selection of caske ales available. Do try some of the fish dishes, especially if on the specials board.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DerekWB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing