We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting ”

The Ilfracombe Fryer
Ranked #40 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: An 80 seater restaurant & take away business located on the promenade with views out over the Bristol channel and only 2 minutes walk from the Landmark Theatre & car park.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disgusting ”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Really looking forward once again to have the traditional (Cod) English fish (and chips) in a seaside town
Having seen the TA recommendation sign on the windows of the illfracombe Fryer felt confident we would enjoy our meal
Not often are we disappointed in TA's recommendations but in this instance we were, a bank holiday weekend and the town was buzzing and at lunch time there is no excuse for such a totally oil saturated experience ...cod is meant to be thick not 2 small slices one of fish one on top of the other. The batter was soft and inedible the batter was so saturated it was ridiculous and the fish not a great deal better
On a positive note the staff were effluent and friendly
... What a disappointment

Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millipedes, Owner at The Ilfracombe Fryer, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your visit was not as you expected, we pride ourselves on the quality of our product and are disappointed that you did not receive a very positive experience. We would always encourage our customers to return any product they were not happy with and would happily replace or refund your meal. We appreciate your comments and are glad that our staff were helpful and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    75
    32
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just came back after a week in Devon and have gad to write a review before anything
The service, cleanliness and food are fab. Do not leave Ilfracombe unless you have tried the fish & chips, you will not get better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunstallpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't let them salt your meal”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying just around the corner from here and decided to have a take away for tea one evening. Nice atmosphere except young staff chatting to each other throughout. The food could have been excellent except for one thing. Salt. The young lad behind the counter asked if we wanted salt and vinegar on our take away cod and chips. He put the right amount of vinegar on, but most of our meal was rendered I edible by ridiculous amounts of salt. Very large portions, so was able to retrieve enough to be edible, but the actions of one member of staff really spoiled what would have been a most enjoyable meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Chips”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We called in after another disastrous meal at our hotel (see other review). The staff were helpful, the place was spotless and the food excellent. Best chippy on planet earth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We live about three miles from Ilfracombe and regularly get our fish and chip take-away from the Ilfracombe Fryer. It will take some beating always good food and excellent service from friendly staff. The Manager is not only good at cooking the food but also very courteous and friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ilfracombe Fryer also viewed

 

Been to The Ilfracombe Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing