We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very glad I insisted that we visit”
Review of Chambercombe Manor

Chambercombe Manor
Ranked #10 of 38 things to do in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very glad I insisted that we visit”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you like history, architecture, gardens and cream teas, this is a place to visit. In its own hidden valley, the seriously ancient manor house is an amazing survival, the staff very patient and the cafe very accommodating. We couldn't get the wheelchair into the house itself, but could take the car right down the steep slope to it, so we could get out next to the cafe. This was a great help. I have never been offered such a generous cream tea before, with hot scones. It was gorgeous, and I don't like scones normally! Soup for lunch was also delicious, and the kitchen put themselves out to adapt one of their dishes for us. There is a choice of guided and non-guided tour days. We went on the latter, bought a guide book and explored round ourselves. We asked questions where necessary. A happy day in the sun in fascinating surroundings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    57
    19
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE AND GREAT FOOD.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

great day, the tour of the Manor was brilliant the gardens looked lovely even in the rain. the food in the café was great. well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank samiann6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Gardens are nice enough to have a gentle walk around, not massive, but pleasant and easy with pathways, all relatively flat. Manor House tour was worth paying for and considering it is a small manor house (not a National Trust size attraction), there were many great stories to hear about, which were suitable for children and adults. Enough chairs in each room for those who needed to sit, to take a rest while on the tour.

Car parking is easy and you have to get your guided tour tickets near the car park from the little gift shop before going to the Manor House. you will get a allocated time and if you are early have a walk around the gardens or visit the coffee shop (seating inside and out).

I would recommend checking the opening hours, especially if you are going in low season, outside school summer holidays (from September etc through to Spring).

The staff were all helpful, polite and considerate at all times. We, as a family from ages 14 years to 81 years all had a lovely afternoon here. I would think that a child under 8 might not appreciate the slow pace of a guided tour and so think about that when you as a family decide what to book, you know your children. We felt the guided tour was worth getting, we did enjoy it, and it took about an hour to complete.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Treeksfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

closed early ..rude staff . would not go back. do not recommend at all . such a pity used to be so well run

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem............”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visited Chambercombe Manor last week and I suggest everyone visiting this area of Devon includes it on their to do list.. From the moment we arrived we were treated brilliantly and found every member of staff so helpful and informative. They have such a passion for this beautiful place and I can see why. We are going to stay there next spring and cannot wait.Please go you wont regret it.....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chambercombe Manor also viewed

 

Been to Chambercombe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing