We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious Cream Tea!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room

Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SEASONAL ONLY: Please see website. April, May, June: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, BH Mondays and Whitweek. JULY AND AUGUST: EVERYDAY EXCEPT SATURDAY. SEPTEMBER - 26 OCTOBER: Friday, Saturday, Sunday. Opens 11am, last orders at 5pm. Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013 and 2014. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe town centre in Hele (Combe Martin Road, A399). Parking in Hele Public Carpark in Beach Road (by Hele Bay Pub). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items are locally made pasties and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF scones if preordered or not too busy. We do not sell cooked lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. DOGS WELCOME in tearoom and garden, although not around the Mill itself. See our website for details or give us a ring. We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Cream Tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A very friendly welcome awaits those who visit Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room. On offer is the traditional cream tea as well as a huge range of freshly made delicious cakes.

Today, I had a savoury cream tea which consisted of cheese scones, cream cheese and onion marmalade. The service was quick and efficient with a smile and the lovely part of the experience is that you didn't feel rushed and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As most of the other reviews already state this is a really lovely tea room. Don’t be put off by the turn into the drive (some run down flats) this is a hidden gem. The owners were lovely and chatty and even played some games with us at the table. We had some delicious Cornish pasties and you can really taste the freshness in the cakes. Best light lunch and cakes we had in Devon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahara12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Went here on the recommendation of other visitors from Tripadvisor. Very home from home atmosphere and lovely gifts to buy. As it was a cold day asked for soup, told had tomato but it was Heinz (something we would not admit), went with it and enjoyed it with a lovely baguette but not made with the flour from the Mill which some of the bread is. Also had a scone with cream and jam which was delicious. Slightly batty feel to the place but hilarious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mill tea rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

A lovely well presented Tea Room right next to mill. excellent choice of foods especially the home made cakes, with good prices

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IBandEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Heaven on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited this corn mill recently with our family and enjoyed the most delicious cakes and cream tea. Everything tasted fresh and wonderful. There was an abundance of jam and cream for the scones and the light as a feather bath split buns ( a particular favourite of ours). A good selection of mouth watering cakes were on display to tempt us. The fact that they mill their own flour is an added bonus. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larkstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing