We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temptation at its best!”

Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: SEASONAL ONLY: Please see website. April, May, June: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, BH Mondays and Whitweek. JULY AND AUGUST: EVERYDAY EXCEPT SATURDAY. SEPTEMBER - 26 OCTOBER: Friday, Saturday, Sunday. Opens 11am, last orders at 5pm. Winner of the Devon Life "Best Tearoom in Devon Award" 2013 and 2014. 16th century working watermill about half a mile east of Ilfracombe town centre in Hele (Combe Martin Road, A399). Parking in Hele Public Carpark in Beach Road (by Hele Bay Pub). We are a family business, milling to produce flour for our mill-made cakes and for sale in the tearoom. We serve Devon Cream Teas including Devonshire Splits and Thunder and Lightning, and a wide variety of cakes made on the premises, many made from our flour. Our savoury items are locally made pasties and savoury cream teas. At least one GF cake aways available and we will make GF scones if preordered or not too busy. We do not sell cooked lunches or evening meals. Takeaway cream teas and cake available. We endeavour to entertain our guests with puzzles and quizzes. DOGS WELCOME in tearoom and garden, although not around the Mill itself. See our website for details or give us a ring. We look forward to welcoming you to Hele Corn Mill.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

13.8.14 We were recommended this tea shop by our B&B before we arrived in North Devon, and were not disappointed. We arrived fairly late, around 4pm but there was still plenty of choice and we did not have a problem getting 6 of us plus 3 road bikes accommodated. I had intended to only have a 'small cream tea' i.e one scone but was easily tempted into having one savoury cheese with cream cheese AND one scone with cream and jam. Good to see some gluten free options. Plenty of tea with unlimited hot water etc. Friendly, relaxed service. Will visit again when waistline has recovered from holiday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

If you are anywhere near the area then this is a must stop off and eat. The scones and splits are wonderful, warm and very freshly baked but there is much more than scones. Pies, pasties and home made cakes and great big pots of tea and freshly made coffee. If the sun is out then the gardens with hidden seating areas, a childrens slide, bee hives and plenty of fruit trees are a great place to enjoy the delights on offer. The mill is a working one and mr miller does a lovely little tour for a small fee. This really is a great place to relax and unwind for an hour and is very child friendly. Perfect.

Thank river f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I can't fault the food or tea here but I can't agree that it's the best tea shop around; I have been to many better.
We ended up waiting around 40 minutes for tea and a piece of cake and when friends arrived 10 minutes later they had to do likewise. We gave up on getting a second coffee!
The courtyard was disappointing with nothing of note in terms of flowers etc.
Go by all means for a nice tea and cake but be prepe to wait for a long time!

Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helemill, Owner at Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jeff
I am so sorry for the delay in you tea and cake arriving, as it was the same for your friends as well, that indicates it was a particularly busy day. We have been bowled over by the number of visitors who have seen reviews of our small business and sometimes when we are busy we do not get a chance to fully engage with our customers or turn orders round quickly enough. I'm glad you enjoyed my wifes cake as all cakes and scones are prepared by her. As to the courtyard, if you do come again and it is not raining why not go up into our tea garden which is a much greener affair and if you have time pop up and see our bees or better still enjoy a walk round our Mill ( Charges depending on age) and someone would call you when your food was ready. Regards The Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had the cream tea - best we have had anywhere and incredible value. Lovely setting as well. Would not hesitate to visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank york0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful cream tea with the best scones we've ever tasted!
Also good selection of cakes but will have to try them next time if our waistlines can take it!
The setting is beautiful,very relaxed, and child and dog friendly, and a very easy place to sit for quite a while!
Family run business, all very friendly and homely.
We'll definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivbrentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Hele Corn Mill and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing