We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For 'Emporium' read 'expensive shop'”

Walkers Chocolate Emporium
Ranked #2 of 7 Shopping in Ilfracombe
Attraction details
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“For 'Emporium' read 'expensive shop'”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Don't come here if it is your sole reason for visiting Ilfracombe as you will be disappointed. It is a very expensive chocolate shop with a small area at the back containing a display of the sort of mugs you get free with Easter eggs and old chocolate assortment boxes (yes it's been a while since I saw a box of Terrys All Gold but not sure I really needed that particular walk down memory lane) a chocolate man (varnished) and a small peep-hole window where you can see a worker out the back making chocolates.

The shop itself sells chocolate at prices to make you gulp (not so much in anticipation, more shock really) but the staff seem nice enough and there's probably something for everyone's taste in chocolate, including diabetic chocolate on offer.


Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

it's the best place ever ,it has good hygiene and great food and great quality choclate and very nice staff that would happily help you with your choice of choclate if you were struggling.Any choclate you could think of was there and thieir cafe had the best hot choclates

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I visited this shop on my stay to Illfracombe. I could live there if that was an option. There is chocolate galore in there. Any chocolate you can think of is in there including the old sweets in a jar and sweet wines and ciders. It was very interesting seeing a chocolate museum at the back of the shop. Very Very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Its Just A Shop”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We Show the flyer and it said on it "The Ultimate Chocolate Experience", well all i can say is "WHERE ?". Its a shop with a small (a very small) display in the back. There was i few items in glass case's which take about 2 minutes to look at, one large egg oh yeh and a chocolate man. The display area where chocolate was made was not in use so even that could be watched.
The shop had one member of staff in it who did not seem to care if people where there or not.
Over all a wast of time the only good thing was it was FREE. I'd not go out your way to visit it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank debs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I read the reviews and was looking forward to visiting this - i was so disappointed. It was no more than a normal chocolate shop with a small display area at the rear. Access was difficult with a pushchair and impossible if you had a wheelchair as there were several steps. Cost of the chocolates were expensive also.

We spent no more than 5 minutes in there - if you are passing, have a look in, but don't go out of your way to visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkers Chocolate Emporium also viewed

Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Walkers Chocolate Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing