We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walkers Chocolate Emporium

Walkers Chocolate Emporium
Ranked #2 of 5 Shopping in Ilfracombe
Attraction details
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Nice little shop with chocolate exhibition at the back & window thru into chocolate workshop. We enjoyed watching the lady making the chocolate & the watching the video on the small tv screen. Great selection of chocolate to buy in the shop(lots handmade on the premises). Other reviewers have criticised the chocolate for sale being over priced. Well, it's not that cheap but then you pay for quality & it not being mass produced stuff! It was very nice :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GLPJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautifully laid out shop and museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

A lovely shop crammed with delicious goodies and ideas for gifts. Definitely well worth a visit when you are in the area.Also hss an interesting museum and you can see the chocolates being made by hand in the workshop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not an attraction at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Got all geared up thinking I was got t see some working chocolate shop and museum. One bloke behind counter and small display of old quality street tins and other stuff round the back. No interest to me or my kids managed all of round 4 mins. If you want to see cholesterol being made visit Belgium or Cadbury world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Like a lot of chocolate, the packaging looks exciting, it promises to be the best thing ever, but once you get inside, it's all rather dull, doesn't live up to expectations and leaves a bad taste.

No chocolate was bring made on the day we visited so that's a third of the attraction gone. The goods in the shop expensive and not that spectacular, although I will say in their favour there was no hard sell, they just let you get on with it.

'It' being the museum. Or should I say small back room with historically inaccurate things on walls (Packers, Elizabeth Shaw & Bristol) and things in display cabinets we have in our cupboards at home or junk we threw out years ago.

In summary, go if you're caught in a shower in ilfracombe and needs somewhere dry to wait it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amythystangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

If you're a fan of chocolate this is the place.There is something for everyone. Friendly attentive shop owner. The chocolate is divine.It's very hard to make a choice they have so much to offer. They also do sweets in jars if that's your treat. At the rear of the shop is a small area of chocolate nostalgia/memorabilla. It also features a chocolate man/giant egg and lolly. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkers Chocolate Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Walkers Chocolate Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing