We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, warm atmosphere with delicious homemade food.”

The Manor House Cafe
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly High Street Cafe open all year for Breakfasts, Lunches, local Farm Cream Teas and in high season early Dinners. Our varied menu is family friendly from juicy local steaks and burgers to meals for the kids too. Our food is all sourced locally including our Beers and Ciders and we aim for a relaxed atmosphere after your day at the beach or long drive to beautiful North Devon We are also Dog friendly
1 review
“Friendly, warm atmosphere with delicious homemade food.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I loved this cafe! They made me feel very welcome and the food was delicious and not over priced. Service was good also. I have been back a few times and was happy each time. They also have high chairs for children and a few toys available for their amusement. Children's menu is available at a good price too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    33
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very warm welcome, very friendly staff. The food was great, a breakfast from here really sets you up for the day! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 855Nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you we are really lucky to have our Team and also all our regulars. So glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There is a lovely feeling to the café that makes you feel welcome, along side the local regulars. the couple that own it are lovely, very helpful and of the course the food is fantastic. You can have anything from a hearty breakfast to a wonderful roast. they cater for children and mine loved the food too. If you are in the area it is well worth a visit even if you only want a coffee or cup of tea. When ever we are on holiday in the area we always pop in for something to eat as we love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samiann6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
The Manor House is our business but also our home and we love it and so glad you do too. We have been so lucky with our staff and customers and yes the monday roast was great this week - I know Mick saved me one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We called into this lovely little cafe for a coffee on an extremely wet Devon day and got a very warm welcome from the owner. Would definitely call in to sample the food if we are in ilfracombe again. Recommend for a friendly welcome

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank louise o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
As a family business and our home we love visitors coming in for a coffee and a chat - makes our day too! Our coffee is especially roasted for us in Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We rode our push bikes from Plymouth to Ilfracoombe and the next day we were looking for a BIG breakfast. Found it here, with a friendly welcome and flexibility, swapping various bits for others. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsxwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
lovely to see you all. Would like to say I will join you on your bike ride next year but our Clotted Cream has done for me!! Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing