We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality food and Speedy too!”

The Manor House Cafe
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly High Street Cafe open all year for Breakfasts, Lunches, local Farm Cream Teas and in high season early Dinners. Our varied menu is family friendly from juicy local steaks and burgers to meals for the kids too. Our food is all sourced locally including our Beers and Ciders and we aim for a relaxed atmosphere after your day at the beach or long drive to beautiful North Devon We are also Dog friendly
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality food and Speedy too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

So, we had not book anywhere for unexpected visiting family and friends on Easter Sunday but I remembered someone said that The Manor House Café were doing Sunday Lunches. I picked up the phone that morning and, although we had a party of 8, they jiggled us in without any fuss and with such polite efficiency we recommend this restaurant on every level without any hesitation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lord-Laurence-Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
So gad we could fit you and your visitors in. We were recently nominated for Best Sunday Lunch in the North Devon Journal so hopefully we must be getting it right! We will carry on doing them hopefully until the summer holidays and then back for the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    32
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go along to the MHC but not on Tuesday because they're shut then”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have been here for the 8o/c opening and then another time stretching the closing time of around 2pm. Various other times as well, Whatever the time the service is friendly and the food excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Really sorry we were shut but as our sign says we may have to close at times as I am off work with a broken foot and Mick needs a day off occasionally! Normal openings will resume as soon as I am back on my feet. .Looking forward to being back and seeing you all soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A welcome not to be missed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The Manor House Cafe is a small but friendly venue. After only a couple of visits you'll be on first name terms or not depending upon whether you'd rather be more formal. There is a menu and several daily specials. All British foods and not a sign of the fancy menus that specialized restaurants supply. You can have just a drink or two, snacks or mains with dessert. Pop in there sometime.

Helpful?
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the ticket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had a full English breakfast and it hit every button. Mug of tea was just right, toast was made from lovely bread and everything you expect on a breakfast was there and cook well. A must for locals and visitors. Great and friendly service makes it a fab experience. Will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueboy25Ilfracombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we are always glad to welcome our locals as you are the main stay of our business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A great little cafe on the high street with warm friendly staff. We had a beautiful breakfast with quality local produce. It was excellent value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We try very hard to but good quality local products for everyone to enjoy - so glad you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing