We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest breakfast in town”

The Manor House Cafe
Ranked #9 of 122 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Friendly High Street Cafe open all year for Breakfasts, Lunches, local Farm Cream Teas and in high season early Dinners. Our varied menu is family friendly from juicy local steaks and burgers to meals for the kids too. Our food is all sourced locally including our Beers and Ciders and we aim for a relaxed atmosphere after your day at the beach or long drive to beautiful North Devon We are also Dog friendly
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food is both tasty and great value, and the staff are only too willing to please with their friendly demeanor and helpful suggestions, as well as a lot of local knowledge if you happen to be a tourist visiting the area and in need of useful sightseeing tips! Local or visitor, definitely suggest you pop in for their breakfast! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review, though predominantly serving locals, we enjoy helping holiday makers make the best of their visit to our beautiful area along with our locally bought homecooked food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Can’t rate the Manor House Café highly enough! You are assured a warm welcome from the owners, whatever the weather outside. When we visited it was around one thirty, grey and pouring with rain but Mick and Jill and their young staff soon lifted our spirits with some local anecdotes and great food. We weren’t alone either - a crew from the nearby fire station were tucking in at the large table next to us (which must be a recommendation in itself!) and families filled the window seats, which were made for children. We enjoyed proper scampi and nicely spiced chilli so much, that after taking in the sights of Ilfracombe harbour and the town, we returned to enjoy a superb cream tea. We’ll certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tadams888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Yes the weather was appalling that day but spirits high in The Manor House! We always have the lads in on Saturdays and occasionally they get a shout so food is all redone later for them! So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope the sun shines next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We called in here for a snack, the service was excellent and the toastie was full of tasty cheese, the cake was definately homemade and was light and a good sized piece was enjoyed by my husband! They call theirselves the friendly cafe and they lived up to the description, will certainly go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and especially the Toastie. Our bread is made by our bakers 6 doors down and our cheese is very tasty - I eat far too much of it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In my opinion it's by far the best breakfast in town. Always a very warm welcome and a hot mug of tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wongwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

People keep telling us we are the best so thank you so much. Down to good local products and my husbands cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

So, we had not book anywhere for unexpected visiting family and friends on Easter Sunday but I remembered someone said that The Manor House Café were doing Sunday Lunches. I picked up the phone that morning and, although we had a party of 8, they jiggled us in without any fuss and with such polite efficiency we recommend this restaurant on every level without any hesitation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lord-Laurence-Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

So gad we could fit you and your visitors in. We were recently nominated for Best Sunday Lunch in the North Devon Journal so hopefully we must be getting it right! We will carry on doing them hopefully until the summer holidays and then back for the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing