We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cafe”

The Manor House Cafe
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly High Street Cafe open all year for Breakfasts, Lunches, local Farm Cream Teas and in high season early Dinners. Our varied menu is family friendly from juicy local steaks and burgers to meals for the kids too. Our food is all sourced locally including our Beers and Ciders and we aim for a relaxed atmosphere after your day at the beach or long drive to beautiful North Devon We are also Dog friendly
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a very warm welcome for our Sunday morning breakfast. Food was well cooked; porridge was not on the menu but was very willingly made for me (and delicious). Very good value. Owners were very happy to chat to us and tell us about the town. Would highly recommend this lovely cafe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlepom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We love sundays and try to keep them relaxed Mick keeps the porridge in for himself so was glad to do it for someone else.Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    32
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chatty welcoming cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

As soon as we stepped through the cafe door we received a delightful greeting. An excellent hot chocolate was brought out topped with maltesers and marshmallows, a perfect holiday treat. This cafe is wonderful for a nice afternoon tea and we shall definitely be revisiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beckycuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
SO glad the hot chocolate hit the spot - it is quite a balancing act to get all that cream, Maltesers and marshmallows from the counter to the table!! We hope that you will return to north Devon for a holiday soon. Jill and Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A lovely little cafe with very friendly staff who are more than willing to tell you about the local area and advise on what are the best things to do. Food was lovely to and is all home made. One of the best cafes in ilfracombe

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your comments we always try and help our holiday makers get the best out of lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A delightful greeting - on first name terms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I visit the MHC several times a month and I always get a cheery greeting whether I'm here for lunch, breakfast or just a coffee - with something else of course.

I understand they offer a Sunday lunch as well.

Do go along and enjoy yourself.

Helpful?
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you Kathy it is especially lovely to receive a review from one of our locals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum Yum and a chat with your food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This cafe is a hidden gem. The food is superb and the service can not be more friendly . If your planning a visit to the area have your Breakfast/Lunch here you wont be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review but so sorry taken me so long in responding. We love welcoming people to our café as we love it as much as our customers do! Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing