We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had to return”

The Manor House Cafe
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly High Street Cafe open all year for Breakfasts, Lunches, local Farm Cream Teas and in high season early Dinners. Our varied menu is family friendly from juicy local steaks and burgers to meals for the kids too. Our food is all sourced locally including our Beers and Ciders and we aim for a relaxed atmosphere after your day at the beach or long drive to beautiful North Devon We are also Dog friendly
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had to return”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Best breakfast in North Devon. We went not the first day and enjoyed the welcome and food so much we had to return. My husband had the "big micks", I had the veggie full breakfast and my 2 year old son had some weetabix and was kept quiet with the toys on offer. Anyone with a toddler will share my pain of eating out, but each time he was entertained with these toys.

The owner was very attentive but let us get on with our meals. We shall definitely return if ever in town again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
So glad you enjoyed your breakfast, holidays are about the whole family so we always try and make sure little ones are happy which then makes happy parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    33
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a lovely welcome!! We felt as if nothing was too much trouble! We arrived with baby, toddler, and almost teenager plus four adults for lunch which we all enjoyed. The sandwiches were very good, everything was freshly made. We'll be back again when we next visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“As always very amazing food and happy to accommodate children's requests”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

thanks again as always you went out of your way to make sure we had a pleasant and comfortable dinning experience the steak was the best I've had In along time and the elderflower cider was a new one on me

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matt151082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you and yes the Elderflower Cider is very good - I must stop selling it incase there is none left for me!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The friendliest cafe in Devon”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful 'vintage' little café in the heart of Ilfracombe owned by two of the loveliest people I have ever met. They do all day breakfasts, lunches, Sunday dinners in fact, almost anything.You must try the Cornish Pasties made in Devon by a Yorkshire man! Also, if you like chocolate then the 'death by chocolate' cream tea is a must!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Delightful homely cafe with food as good as it gets. We are so glad we found this hidden gem. Lovely tasty curry and the best chips we've had in ages at a great price.
Try the delicious gooseberry crumble - yummy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justacoupleofbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Glad you like the Gooseberry - we knew you would!! Mick is making more curry as we speak. Happy holidays Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing