We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Break”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Break”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Marine Court Hotel, it was my birthday and when we arrived I received a birthday card from Karen and Russ which was lovely, they are an amazing couple who have worked very hard to achieve what they have and we would highly recommend staying with them to everyone. Our boys still talk about them now, 'can we go back to see Karen & Russ'

The only critism was having a room (which was lovely clean and comfortable) but because it was hot we had the windows open and we heard all the traffic and the people leaving the pub opposite.

Amazing break just at the top of a hill from the Harbour and would definitely go back especially for Russ' breakfast ;

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and comfortable with an added touch of tea/coffee facilities with biscuits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 892Cheryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
241
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent location 5 mins walk from harbour, perfect hosts, breakfasts good in both range and quality, clean and tasteful rooms that were well equipped and a generally pleasant and relaxed feel. Everything everyone says on here about Karen and Russ is true, they look after you in a very genuine way - thank you so much to both of them.
Ilfracombe was a delight to visit with a variety of nice walks, scenery and eateries. Cannot recommend highly enough the Relish restaurant on Forge street (amazing Venison casserole). Good restaurants book up 24-48 hours in advance during high season. There's a quirky museum if you need to distract yourself for an hour in the rain and plenty of shops, pubs and tea rooms. Recommend a 45 min hilly walk to Hele rewarding yourself with a cream tea at the Old Corn Mill (before it shuts at 5pm), catching the sunset at the little bay and a drink at the quiet Thatched Inn over the road.

Room Tip: Karen will explain the various room/bathroom sizes, small means really quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our first visit to Ilfracombe and we were very fortunate with the weather which made our stay special. Karen and Russ were very helpful and extremely friendly and made our stay special. The room was clean and adequate although the bathroom was very small. The breakfast was excellent. We would definately recommend this friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Karen and Russ welcome you and nothing is too much trouble for this extremely likeable couple. I took my parents away for a couple of days and was so impressed with the way in which these outstanding hosts ensured my parents' needs were catered for. They even lent my dad a walking stick. Their attention to detail is superb. I have never stayed in a B&B before preferring, instead the anonymity of a hotel but I was pleasantly surprised with the personal touch we received. Things to do and places to go were recommended. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. This is a great find and if I find myself in Ilfracombe again I would definitely be returning.
Thank you Karen and Russ for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a sea view if you would be bothered by road traffic throughout the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 12 year old daughter for 4 nights. Karen and Russ are the perfect hosts, helpful in every way. The rooms and the whole place were spotless and tastefully decorated. Russ's breakfasts were amazing - 5 star quality. I would definately recomend this to anyone. Thank you Karen and Russ for making our break perfect in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our first visit to Illfracombe was at Marine Court guest house. We stayed for a week and can highly recommend it.Karen andRuss were so friendly and helpful,with their knowledge of the area,places to visit and eat.They made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.The whole house is spotlessly clean and modern.The breakfast was brilliant with a (build your own)menu which was a great idea so you only get what you want,cooked to perfection !There was not a thing missing with a choice to suite every taste.Cant praise it enough!You could even get a packed lunch to take out if you needed one.Wouldn't stay anywhere else and hope to return.Karen and Russ made our holiday on to remember!

Room Tip: We were in room 12. Top of the house(3rd floor) but worth the climb for the brilliant sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here a few nights. The hotel is nice and quiet, slighty off the main drag (which is good). The owners are a very friendly and courteous couple who work hard to help people enjoy their stay. We would heartily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: Hillsborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARINE COURT a Four Star GOLD AA Accredited Guest Accommodation and Ranked No 1 by Trip Advisor is situated in a quiet, pleasant position within 5 minutes walking distance of the picturesque harbour. It offers a friendly informal atmosphere, but also offers very high standards. It is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday and for exploring the stunning coast and wonderful beaches that North Devon offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Ilfracombe
Marine Court Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing