We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for 3nights at the Marine Court from 25th April 2014, enjoying our 30th wedding anniversary. Couldn't have stayed anywhere better, Karen and Russ are excellent hosts, full of ideas on where to go and what to do. Nothing too much trouble to arrange. Lovely clean and comfortable room and the best breakfasts we can remember..ever!

Room Tip: better sea views from upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Six people, four motorbikes - our second trip to Lands End and for three of us our second stay with Karen and Russ, all I can say is -wonderful! Two nicer hosts you could ever wish to meet. Accommodation is cleaned to a high standard with every attention to detail. Beds and pillows give you a fantastic sleep and when you wake Russ cooks the most fantastic 'build your own' breakfast with a selection to please even the fussiest eater! Service from Karen and her staff is second to none. An evening in the bar with your hosts is like chatting with good friends that you have known for years.
Thanks guys - we had a fab time and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic - but we did get a sneak preview of their newly refurbished 'executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsHayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the best guest house we have ever stayed in clean clean clean, Russ and Karen are lovely people and make you very welcome .
Its ok for any one to sit and write a review and say nice things but this is the first time i have ever felt like writing a review. If your going to Ilfracombe stay here you will not be disappointed. The breakfast is great. We booked a king size room with a sea view and we were delighted when we walked in. Karen and Russ keep doing what your doing cause it works. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Marine Court Hotel in ilfracombe staying on a bed and breakfast basis. I can say that this guest house is beautifully clean and very well appointed. The hosts Karen & Russ make you feel at home from the moment or in our case prior to your arrival. We had a little trouble with our car and Karen and Russ were most obliging in trying to help us with booking a table at a local restaurant for an evening meal. We booked two rooms one being the executive suite, this room has its own small but bijou lounge. The breakfast is really nice and was enjoyed by our whole family. We would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone who is thinking of going to ilfracombe. Ifracombe has a very attractive harbour and is well worth a visit, we also ventured to Lynton & Lynmouth both of these two villages are very attractive with some very nice small gift shops.

Room Tip: Choose the executive suite this is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've stayed here twice in the past couple of years and I have to say it is one of the nicest I have ever stayed at. The owners are a loveley couple who really made us feel welcome and helped us to have a fantastic stay in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyCuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the adjoining family suite - all the family enjoyed our stay. Karen and Russ are great hosts and have created a very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. We would definitely come back and recommend to anybody to stay here. Great location too just a short walk from the gorgeous harbour. The Olde Thatch Inn opposite was a real bonus too! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in early October.
Beautiful room with King Size Bed. I can't remember the last time we slept so well.
lovely view of the Bristol Channel and Verity's head.
Karen & russ could not have been more helpful and obliging.
The cooked breakfasts are absolutely wonderful with a wide variety of choice.
We'll stay there again if we coe back to Ilfracombe.
If you go, take the time to visit the museum on the seafront next to the theatre.

Naomi & George

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
1 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: Hillsborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £75 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARINE COURT a Four Star GOLD AA Accredited Guest Accommodation and Ranked No 1 by Trip Advisor is situated in a quiet, pleasant position within 5 minutes walking distance of the picturesque harbour. It offers a friendly informal atmosphere, but also offers very high standards. It is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday and for exploring the stunning coast and wonderful beaches that North Devon offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Ilfracombe
Marine Court Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing