We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Crescent House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't have asked for more considering the price we paid. First impressions on walking through the main entrance was how clean and tidy the reception area was. The room contained everything we could have needed and the en suite seemed to have been recently refirbished and was also beautifully clean.
Breakfast was excellent. One lovely little touch which I must mention - as Marmite fans we asked if they had any which they didn't unfortunately. However, the next day we discovered a little box of Marmite on the breakfast bar.
Only one negative point, the lack of parking facilities. We had to pay for a space in the nearby Arlington Hotel car park!
Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlfromWales18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Crescent House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed for a long 3-day weekend - overall it was pretty good, except my room was pretty cold and I couldn't see any way to turn the heat on. I suppose that is done "centrally" and it was too early in the winter season for the heating to be on. Still my room had a nice view and was comfortable. I really liked Ilfracombe (beautiful cliff & hill walks) and I'm sure I'll be back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I booked this hotel at the last minute and informed the hotel that I would be booking in at around 11pm due to finishing work and the distance involved for me to travel. Due to an accident on the M5, we arrived at 1:30am and met the owner, Liam - although he had to stay up for us, there was no issue and even at the late hour, we received a very warm welcome. During our two night stay, we were treated with superb customer service and Liam and his wife, Slyvia were excellent hosts. Having experience of staying in Hotels through my professional capacity, I have no hesitation in saying that this was the best hotel that I have stayed in and have every intention of staying again. The family room was a very spacious double room with an adjoining spacious twin room, both rooms had tv's and the bathroom was new with a very good shower. The whole hotel was cleaned to a very high standard and the food was lovely. Thank you for a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulrdiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

When we arrived the first impression of the Hotel was how clean it was and how helpful the owners were.
When we rang to book our accommodation and explained we needed a room with a power supply adjacent to the bed for my husbands dialysis machine, the owner checked the rooms before we booked to make sure we had what we needed. This help continued throughout our stay.
The room was very nice with matching furniture and matching furnishings this creates a good impression. The beakfast was very good and cooked to order.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We were lucky to find a room the day before our weekend in Ilfracombe. Liam and Sylvia were very welcoming the room was comfortable and the bathroom good with a fabulous shower. Saturday morning we had the best English breakfast we've had in ahotel - freshly cooked with ust the right amounts of bacon,egg,sausage, beans,tomato, mushroom and potato. Liam was always ready to help, advise and chat. We arrived feeling frazzled on Friday and left feeling relaxed and refreshed on Sunday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mad-maude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend and found it to be a lovely base for what was a perfect couple of days.
The hotel is centrally located, a short stroll to both the seafront and the town centre, and the owner, Liam was extremely friendly and helpful from the very beginning, guiding us to a near carpark as he is busy constructing parking areas behind the hotel which should be up and running soon.
Our room was comfortable and spacious, and although we didn't make it down to breakfast on our first morning, we enjoyed a well cooked and hunger-busting full English (Irish) on our second from a well stocked buffet.
In all we would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Thanks again Liam,

Ben and Aimee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked this hotel for three nights at the last minute after a horrendous experience at another ‘hotel’ in Ilfracombe which we couldn’t wait to get out of. The proprietors Liam and Sylvia went out of their way to accommodate us and even let us have a look at the room before we took it. After the last one we wanted to be sure! The room was lovely - spacious, plenty of storage space and clean and bright with a large bay window overlooking the street. There was a bit of noise from passers by late in the evening but not enough to keep us awake. Breakfast was good, no menu but you could ask for anything and nothing was refused, and there was always fresh fruit to start with, strawberries, melon and pineapple – lovely! The last morning we were there they tried a different system, a buffet, and this worked really well too. The chef was constantly refreshing the eggs and the food was really hot. The hotel is central for everything, in fact a perfect location. There is a problem with parking in Ilfracombe, but there are parking spaces outside the hotel if you are lucky enough to get one, but for us Liam went above and beyond the call of duty and gave us his space, and parked his own car elsewhere. There are plans for the hotel to have its own car park soon so that problem will go away. Sylvia and Liam have renovated this hotel with their own hard work to an excellent standard, a real labour of love and it shows. Keep it up guys, it will be superb when you’ve finished and I wish you success!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazziebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent House Hotel

Address: Fore St, Ilfracombe EX34 9DN, England (Formerly Altro Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Ilfracombe
Crescent House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing