We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, spacious and affordable + great breakfast!”

Crescent House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Cirencester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean, friendly, spacious and affordable + great breakfast!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here in August and the proprietor was very approachable, helpful and friendly. The en-suite room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and the English breakfast first rate. The location of the hotel is close to the town centre without the noise. Parking is limited but there is CCTV car parking in Marine Drive only a short walk away near the pretty harbour and this costs approx 3 pounds per 24 hours ( probably even less for a week?). There are several good pubs and restaurants nearby - Smugglers by the harbour was especially good. Do take the opportunity to visit Lundy Island when you visit - arduous climbs but well worth it. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

we arrived here in need of a place to stay after our camping trip went wrong. the owner was really friendly and the family room was perfect - more like a suite. the hotel is well situated though parking can be a pain. we liked this place a lot and reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Liam the host was very helpful and approachable, helping us in from the street with our bags and taking them to our room, a room which was very clean with fantastic views across the Bristol Channel to Wales. The breakfast (English) was a buffet but was very fresh a tasty, there was also a choice of Continental or fruit and cereal. If we ever visit the beautiful town of Ilfracombe again then we will return to The Crescent Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed for a short break at the end of July. The rooms were clean and the breakfast fine. It was however more a B&B than a hotel. There was a bar but it wasn't open during our stay and no access to the garden or "deck" either - a shame, as ability to use hotel and socialise with other guests was extremely limited. Need to be more customer focused.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newentboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The staff helpful and friendly extremely clean, the bed very comfortable, tea coffee facilities, excellent en-suite plenty of cupboard, draw and hanging space. When we arrived we were welcomed and treated extremely well and as it was our anniversary we were very grateful as this only added to our day and made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmania1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we noticed that the hotel had no parking facilities. The person who greeted us was very casual about that, and just told us that there are various public car parks. When we finally parked the car and told him that these car parks were actually charging a fair amount of money he answered along the lines that this wasn't his problem. We then noticed that one of the windows didn't open and then the same person gave us the feeling that we were a litte stupid. However, he then had to use tools to be actually able to open it. During the night, we then had various problems (very low door frame with no warning signs where we bumped our heads, steps in unexpected places with no warning), which could have resulted in serious accidents. When we brought this to the attention of the very same person and said that we would like to terminate our booking for the second night as we had been very unhappy about our "Crescent House experience", he reacted in a very arrogant and haughty fashion. In the meantime we noticed that Crescent House has charged us for the second night, although we didn't stay there and gave very good reasons why we felt that the service and quality of the product was inadequate. We are at a total loss why this place is so highly rated by clients

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eoliehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

After being involved in a car crash en route to hotel, Liam and Sylvia couldn't have done enough for us, changing our room to ease our discomfort. Very friendly couple, lovely hotel, large bedroom, fantastic full English breakfast, ready with local knowledge, this hotel and couple deserve to be full every night. Would return if back in ilfracombe. Thank you for a lovely stay. Ciaran & Julie, Birmingham

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kegBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent House Hotel

Property: Crescent House Hotel
Address: Fore St, Ilfracombe EX34 9DN, England (Formerly Altro Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Ilfracombe
Crescent House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing