We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday Celebration”

Crescent House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just had a fantastic birthday celebration at this hotel, whole hotel was taken by our friends and family and our hosts Sylvia and Liam provided us with a great buffet supper for 80. In the morning breakfast was delicious and then we all returned for a scrumptious roast carvery. All the family commented on the beautiful rooms and service and my wife and I could not have asked for a better location to celebrate her 60 birthday, with friend and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Well located for the town and seafront. We enjoyed a lovely nights sleep in here in a very comfortable bed. We stayed in a standard room which was a good size with bathroom and lovely large shower. Breakfast well cooked. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Would be worth spending a little more for a seaview - hotel is located up a hill so good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were with a wedding party, filling up the whole hotel. Our (family) room was well decorated and had enough space for our big bed and a standard single for our 4 year old grandson. Beds were very comfortable and had lovely quilts as well as an extra warm counterpane if you needed the additional warmth. It was a bitterly cold weekend, and despite the heating being on the highest setting, the room still felt cool, not helped by the traditional single-glazed sash windows. En suite shower room was spacious, clean and warm.
Unfortunately, we didn't have a sea view, but there was plenty of natural light, and only a little noise (from our own parties' late night last minute stag & hen celebrations) from the street outside.
Parking seems to be an issue in Ilfracombe, but there is a very limited area available - but it's a tight squeeze and it's best if a friend can watch your corners to avoid scrapes which could add significantly to the cost of the break!
The communial areas were well appointed, and allowed enough space for people to spread out. Breakfast in the main dining room was excellent.
An easy walk into the main shopping street, and to all the attractions and pubs down towards the harbour.

Room Tip: Sea views are a must if you can get one, and beware that there can be many stairs for the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phicox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

we have just returned from our Easter weekend. Liam what a fantastic host .Bedroom spotless very comfy bed shower great fantastic breakfast .location is in a perfect position for the restaurants and local bars we would highly recommend this hotel .we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: sea view rooms Fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351lindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here twice before and had no hesitation in rebooking. Hotel lovely, clean, warm (heating left on overnight due to cold!!) and manager very friendly. Centrally located (park at harbour - short uphill walk) and exceptional value for money. We had asked for room with bath and got an entire family suite with a sea view!! Visit Ilfracombe regularly (friends live here) and will always stay here.

Room Tip: Park at harbour, low rates and short walk to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alirud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

stayed in august.....i got engaged to my girlfriend tge hotel manager went out of his way to make a special weekend. Tgank you very much. Cant wait to come again good price great food. Excellant location close to everything you want and need. Hotel is immaculate jyst like the area

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleytrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 for our wedding in Ilfracombe, along with a lot of our family and friends who had travelled down for the wedding. Liam and his wife were the perfect hosts: friendly, welcoming, organised, and even left us a bottle of champagne and chocolates in the room as a wedding gift, which was very sweet.

Because pretty much the entire hotel was booked out by members of our wedding party, we got to see into most of the rooms. The entire hotel and all the rooms were absolutely spotless and the views from some of the sea-facing rooms are beautiful. Not one of our group had any complaints, the rooms are luxurious but not overpriced with big comfy beds, and the cooked breakfast was delicious, with lots of other options like fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt.

The hotel is in the perfect position in town, close to the main high street, the sea front, and the restaurants and cafes. The one small issue is the limited car parking, although there is space outside to pull up and unload your bags and there are long-stay car parks all over Ilfracombe within walking distance. Although there are a few steps here and there between rooms, the hotel was very accessible for our elderly and disabled guests, and Liam was a fantastic help, carrying bags and putting those who had difficulty walking in rooms near to the lift.

Overall we so happy that we had chosen to stay at the Crescent House Hotel.
We will definitely be back for another visit soon!

Room Tip: The superior rooms with a sea view are absolutely fantastic, with gorgeous views and luxury bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent House Hotel

Address: Fore St, Ilfracombe EX34 9DN, England (Formerly Altro Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Ilfracombe
Crescent House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing