We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly staff and great local ales.”

The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill
Ranked #28 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pier is a Brewery Tap and Grill serving great real ale from The Wizard Brewing Company and a wide selection of locally sourced gourmet burgers, steaks and seafood, as well as daily specials. Our family friendly pub is situated right on the harbour in Ilfracombe, and boasts a large seafront beer garden with spectacular views of the ocean and North Devon coastline. We're ideal for a romantic dinner for two but luckily can also cater for big groups, functions and this year have even done a wedding reception
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff and great local ales.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed our first visit here so much that we came back once again for dinner and several times for drinks.

On our first visit the very friendly barman was able to recommend food to us based on the food miles. We chose the sea bass fillet which had been caught over the wall of the harbour outside the restaurant and the cod caught off Lundy in locally brewed beer batter. The sea bass fillet was cooked in garlic butter and was one of the best meals I had ever eaten. My companion, an extremely fussy eater and very difficult to please loved his fish and chips and even suggested a return visit (unheard of and very high praise indeed!) He had the Lundy's Gold which he had previously tried on Lundy island and is, apparently, very good. We returned several times and when the Lundy's Gold was unavailable the knowledgeable barman, assisted by the brewer, was able to recommend the Cliff Aleway as a suitable alternative, which also went down very well.

The decor is fresh, clean and modern inside and out and the crow's nest at the back is highly recommended, although we were very fortunate to visit during two weeks of beautiful sunny weather and so eating outside overlooking the rocks and sea may not always be possible! When it is though it is excellent and the view and warm sunshine augment the delicious food.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    79
    29
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“End of Stag Drinks”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Enjoyed what started as a very peaceful few drinks in the crow's nest overlooking a beautifully peaceful sea as the sun set while listening to some amazing Pink Floyd guitar riffs by the live band. We then headed to the bar to sample some unusual shots a local lass had suggested we try, if you don't have a sweet tooth avoid the Bakewell Bomb. Lovely barmen, who very kindly let us select some songs on their music system, and even seemed happy for us to sing along to the likes of Nessun Dorma and play air guitar to Led Zepplin which was great news. Thanks very much to the landlord for making us feel very welcome. Honey is such a sweety, I will remember our dance for eternity.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned the Pier Tavern is still a work in progress. They have done a great job on the interior and I hope they are able to renovate outside to the same standard. I had one of the burgers and chips, which aren't trying to compete with other pubs on price, but the price did reflect the quality. Not sure about serving food on slates? There must be other options if you are trying to avoid standard round plates. The beer is great and I will always seek out a pub that sells good locally brewed ales. I will be returning with the family, I am hoping by then that they have something simple to appeal to under 10's by then .. a spag bol made with locally sourced meat maybe, or some plain sausages?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What no fish!! and no sausages!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When visiting the Wizard micro brewery we were recommended to try The Pier Brewery Tap and Grill on the quay at Ilfracombe - what a disappointment. Firstly as we had a young child we asked where the seating with 'the views' were and were sent 'round the back', no signage and were left to negotiate large puddles in a doorway, a truck parked across the doorway unloading barrels and the stairs to the deck being painted. Once there it was fine.
We had menus and made our choices and went to order adults and find out what was available for children as this was not on menu. Two fish and chips ordered and a steak. Only to be told no fish as it had not been delivered and only limited steak available. Back to the deck to make 2nd choice.and decide child's meal between sausage and mash and macaroni cheese. Back to the bar to order 3 burgers and a sausage and mash but now we are told told that there were no sausages and in fact that this was no longer on the menu for children.
Food when it came (we had to chase after some forty minutes) was OK although the burgers were very heavily salted and not to everyone's liking.
The premises have been tastefully renovated (shabby chic) just a shame that service and food let it down.
Management still has some work to do but could be a good location with a bit more focus on the customer.
Wizard beer very good, tried the phoenix which was a good lunch time ale.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect to watch the sunset”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My favourite place in Ilfracombe to sit and watch the sunset, good range of drinks to meet all tastes but would recommend the ciders. Newly decorated it is clean and tidy inside hopefully cozy in winter. Food looks good but at the higher price range. They have live music some sunday's which is a fun way to finish the weekend. - Would recommend to locals and tourists.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Tonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Pier Brewery Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing