We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food - huge portions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tea Garden

The Tea Garden
Ranked #4 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat here after viewing the menu and seeing how nice the outdoor eating area looked. Wonderful food and very large portions and a decent choice of meals for children's appetites. This place was so good we went back for lunch again a few days later. Excellent, friendly service as well - highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank TrubbyDubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    29
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the best tea room in Ilfracombe, cream teas were excellent and the cakes fantastic! Excellent selection of drinks and good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 242Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although peak July week day (29th) the breakfast we had was outstanding. Cost was fair, cleanliness and staff top dog and would not only recommend bUt will return when back down there. Our grand daughter had beans on toast and she ate every bit, well worth the stop

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hoorah! Gluten Free cream tea and very splendid it was too a good choice of GF foods makes this tea room very special after all you can't visit Decon and not have a cream tea!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best tea in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We discovered this by chance as we not allowed in the local weatherspoons as we had a dog with us.
Walking along we spotted the tea garden ,a lovely old building with a pretty garden.
Excellent cafe menu , ham egg chips and beans etc , delicious pipping hot with ,quick friendly service .
Home made cakes tasty and moist.
Excellent value and they welcome dogs in the garden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Garden also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing