We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.Cant wait to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.Cant wait to return.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just come back from a four night stay.Really can't praise the place enough.A very comfortable lodge in beautiful settings.A great base for the likes of Woolacombe,Ilfracombe,Combe Martin etc.The weather was mostly good and temperatures inside the cabin were certainly not an issue.Electricity cost was two pounds.That is for four people charging phones,listening to music etc.Beds were very comfortable and shower,bathroom and kitchen were perfectly adequate.Gratton is perfect for dog owners and to be honest you do need to be fairly mobile as the site is quite hilly.On the two occasions I had reason to speak with Dave the owner he could not of been more helpful or courteous.Good value for money as we went out of season and I will definitely recommend Gratton to my friends.We are hoping to return again later in this year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyJaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    28
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
47
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bognor regis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We returned here in March and again was greeted by the owners Dave and Ros and their daughter Isabella. We had a different 2 bedroom lodge this time which was even better than the one we stayed in last year. Over the winter the owners have done alot on renovating on all the lodges most being completely gutted inside with new kitchens being installed and floors being stripped back to bear wood and varnished which is alot better to keep clean as these lodges are holiday homes for dogs as well. As last year they are well equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable relaxing break. If its not in the lodge Dave and Ros usually have it in their store room or they will do their best to get it for you. Nothing is to much for them to make your holiday to remember. We will be returning again as it is a lovely place in a lovely setting.
Thanks again Dave Ros and Isabella for a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stagecoachrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Exmoor lodge, which has now been renamed Foxglove, and were really impressed with the clean and fresh smell on arrival. It is perfectly suitable for a couple with a comfortable bed, shower room and well equipped kitchen. The site itself is well laid out and we had a great view over the valley. It is really peaceful with a bird chorus waking you in the morning.

Although we were lucky with the weather, having warm sun during the day, it was cool at night (expected though in April). However, this was not a problem in the lodge as there was ample electric heating to make it cosy.

The owners Dave and Ros do live on site but you would hardly know it as they leave you to enjoy your holiday. Extremely helpful and available when needed.

There is a pub in the well kept village but we favoured the Saw Mill on the main Ilfracombe to Combe Martin Road that is still only a 15-20 minute walk away. Not only local ales served but good quality and reasonable priced food.

We would certainly recommend Grattons for anyone looking for a sensibly priced relaxing break.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JK_LoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here for a week in one of the smaller lodges with my two dogs. I found it clean, bright and airy. The views were to die for, and my lodge was cosy, done out in a fresh, IKEA style.
Before I booked, I checked how steep the access to my lodge was because one of my dogs is disabled. That’s what you do when you have specific needs. You check first.

The owners are the loveliest people you could meet. Nothing is too much trouble, and they have the most adorable little girl. What they need is constructive, honest feedback, and dispassionate reviews. Not hyperbole, about trapped fingers in cars, mountains, and shacks. Honestly people, get a grip!

They are trying to make a go of this place, and they are gradually doing it up. If you want luxury, you can get it. But expect to pay three times the price for it elsewhere. Here you get value for money and individual, quirky charm. Not a mass-produced Brookside style of place, complete with concrete walkways, dishwasher, clubhouse and Sky television.

The lodges are on the outskirts of the very beautiful village of Berrynarbor. It’s a small village, and it’s very near the harbour, as its name suggests. The most you will get in the way of laid on entertainment here are the local Morris dancers, but it has a lovely pub, about five minutes walk from the lodges. You are only a few minutes drive from the village of Combe Martin, which has several pubs, a beach, and a number of shops.

It is a beautiful hillside location, not a mountain as one reviewer stated. It’s a typical North Devon hill. If you dislike hills, may I suggest Bognor as a destination?
You will not need a 4x4 or an oxygen tank to get up this particular hill. However, if you are the type who drives to their corner shop then you will probably need both. The reviewer who said they were physically fit and struggled… I don’t believe you! The walking is fabulous from here. Not particularly strenuous either. But you will need decent footwear... After all, this is the gateway to Exmoor.

It is up a lane, so unlike the M25, there are no lines, but all you have to do is keep to the left, there’s enough room for a vehicle coming both ways.

You will need to pack your imagination too, there is no entertainment laid on for you here. Should you leave that at home, there’s an excellent tourist information office in Combe Martin.

It’s a very quiet site as there’s only a handful of lodges. Although, I note that one reviewer complained about the noisy trees. I have never met a noisy tree. I'd quite like too though.
I know it's not as exciting, but I had a noisy owl outside my bedroom at night. I did complain, but sadly, nothing was done about it.

I also complained about the blackbird, (revolting creature ran past me with a worm in his beak), the bats, the horses, and the sheep. Again, nothing was done.
However, despite the overabundance of irritating creatures, and their dreadful cacophony, which disturbed my peace and quiet, I will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you want a nice relaxing break you should consider Grattons Cedar Lodges as a base for exploring the Devon countryside. The site can be found at the top of a fairly steep hill but the views when you get there are stunning. You can also build up a healthy appetite with the walk down to the village to visit Ye Olde Globe Inn for an excellent meal. At the site itself there is a fairly small parking area which could get interesting when it's busy.
We were impressed with the overall quality of the lodge(Exmoor). The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need including electric cooker, microwave, fridge freezer together with all the cutlery, pots/ pans etc. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in with the exception of the odd cruise.
A word of advise-if you travel from the direction of Combe Martin there is no sign for Grattons facing you therefore you need to turn left after passing through the village just past the bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Positive
After booking I read some very negative reviews. This is a real shame because whilst not without its faults this is a really nice place for a family holiday. It also welcomes dogs.

This site is run by a friendly couple with a young child. We were quickly greeted and shown the lodge having arrived at 8pm, just go to the reception and ring the bell, otherwise they leave their mobiles to call.

The lodge was clean, tidy, and had all that was listed when we got there (although the wifi is a bit hit and miss, so don't rely on this for downloading anything too much).

There is a selection of DVDs to borrow from the office.

We were in partridge lodge, which is up a few steps but not far to carry your bags . They are all set on a hill and have a lovely view. This is a peaceful place to relax, with a wood to walk through behind and the south west coastal walk a 3 minute drive away.

There is lots to do nearby and a useful welcome folder.

Nice village a few minutes walk away (best kept in britain 2010 apparently!). The local pub is friendly, children and dogs welcome and did a fantastic Sunday roast. Plus you can take away the draught beer.

Negative
Parking is a bit tight but we seemed to be the last in and found space, plus i scraped the front bumper a few times driving out on steep drive. The road up from the village is also steep!

It's a shame to pay for electricity which the heaters eat up a bit, we spent about £30 in a very cold week. We did have an 18month old and were in quite a lot though. Bring £1 coins. Staff did say they had a load we could change if needed.

The shower is electric and a bit feeble but warm enough.

The decor seemed fresh enough but seemed to be a bit 'diy'. That said, i'm being picky, for the price we paid it's fine and clean.

The welcome pack is a bit light but we came prepared and i don't see anyone really relying on it?

Not much storage space.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norburbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This appealed to us for the dog friendly accommodation & the reasonable cost! Location was good, we had car so drove around to next towns/villages. The location is steep but for the views from the lodges was fine...there is a lovely dog friendly pub at bottom of hill which serves nice food.

The lodges were newly refurbed, had everything you needed for cooking etc. beds really comfy, clean bedding etc. The only problem is the cold, typical english weather on a bank holiday weekend. They did give us extra heaters & blankets which was great of them but the heat just didn't stay in, during the night was the worst & couldn't sleep too great as was that cold. But we didn't let this ruin our stay anyway so will defiantly be returning as perfect for dogs, especially with the paddock for them to run around.

Think will be perfect for summertime stay rather than winter/spring time just purely due the heating.

Thank you for our lovely weekend to the very friendly owners, we will be recommending xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 4 in Berrynarbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grattons Cedar Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grattons Cedar Lodges

Property: Grattons Cedar Lodges
Address: Hagginton Hill | Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grattons Cedar Lodges are set within a picturesque hillside garden location on the edge of the award winning village of Berrynarbor in North Devon with stunning valley and sea views. Positioned just a mile away from Exmoor National Park and close to some of the best beaches in the country. It's an ideal base from which to explore the scenery of North Devon or just to relax in the peace and tranquility of the garden setting. For visitors looking to enjoy the great outdoors there is fishing, tennis, horse riding and golf nearby as well as easy access to the moors for walking and rambling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grattons Cedar Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grattons Cedar Lodges Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing