We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Egg-cellent time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Egg-cellent time”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Me & my partner stayed here for 4 nights with our hound (aka Morgan). We had an awesome time & couldn't fault anything..We felt more welcome than in our own home. Extremely accommodating, fresh free range eggs in the morning-stunning. Also a selection of dvds for the evening entertainment. Would highly recommend staying here. Look forward to coming back. The views are outstanding, same goes for the surrounding area & towns. The coastal walks are beautiful, and the local produce is lovely (Especially the award winning fudge) and the chiggoggys...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    28
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
47
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our two boys (aged 6 and 8). We had a fabulous time. The boys loved the freedom and visiting the horses in the paddock. The views are absolutely stunning. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners - very nice people. The lodge was comfortable and had everything we needed. It was also very clean. The food at the local pub was great although we ate in the lodge most nights. Perfect for a family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My partner and I along with our dog Monty stayed here a week ago and must say what a lovely pleasant stay we had. We arrived to a very warm welcome by Dave who showed us round the area and gave us all the information we needed in regards to the facilities.
The lodges may look like they require a bit updating but the owners are in the gradual process of doing this, though all lodges are fully equipped with what you require for a short break away. I agree with previous reviews the hills are steep but what a view from the lodges so worth the stay. The pub in the village is a must, the foods is great value for money and dog friendly.
We would definitely stay here again and are already planning our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for four nights from 23/9/13 and had a most enjoyable stay. Made to feel very welcome by David who is the owner and then shown to our lodge which was named Bluebell. We were more than happy with the lodge but it was quite evident that the site is very much a dog friendly one and so there was a noticeable odour within the cabin, we knew before we booked that this was a dog friendly site and being dog owners ourselves it did not bother us in the slightest but it might be a problem to non pet owners. The lodge was clean and well equipped and had everything that we needed and felt really cosy. The site itself is at the top of a very steep hill and Cardiac hill as a previous reviewer named it is I feel a very apt name for it. Set in a beautiful little village called Berrynarbour this site is well worth a visit weather pet owners or not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Arrived to a very warm welcome from owners, Buttercup log cabin was perfect and well equipped for our needs. Stable door on cabins to contain your dog, garden area is not fenced. Kitchen/lounge was perfect with a tv/dvd. Laundry facilities on site - washing machine and dryer for additional fee. The cabins have perfect views of the countryside and there are lots of woodland walks to take the dog on. BEWARE the site is set on a 10:9 hill from village - not for the feint hearted - we aptly named it cardiac hill! A perfect bolt hole for exploring North Devon with Coombe Martin and Ilfracombe within 5 miles of the site and Woolacombe is a little further away. The village of Berrymabour has a village shop and a great pub that serves really good food.

Owners are available and nothing is too much trouble for them - perect hosts - 5*

Room Tip: If you are more fussy some of the cabins have recently been refurbished so ask on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrraine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights in the bluebell lodge at Grattons Cedar Lodges. Upon arrival Dave met us and gave us an overview of the facilities at the lodge we would be staying in.bluebell lodge had spectacular views over berrynarbor and you can see the sea from inside. The lodge was spotlesley clean and time had been spent on the finishes touches. We took our 6 month old gsd and even though bluebell lodge is one of the smaller lodges we still felt we had enough room even with a large crate for the dog.showers were hot, bed was semi comfortable but could do with a matters topper for extra comfort.cooking facilities were more than sufficient, we managed to cook a beef roast dinner for two.location was perfect.20 mins from woollacoombe beach, croyde a little further. I would recommend woollacoombe beach for dogs. Overall extremely impressed with our lodge and facilities. They had everything you need for a weekend away.im looking to return next year but for a bit longer this time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Me, my partner and 2 dogs have just returned from a lovely 4 day break, we were made welcome as soon as we arrived and we loved the lodge that we were given, obviously we had come on this holiday with our dogs and about 15 minutes drive away is a brilliant beach at Woolacombe were you can let your dogs off for a run, all in all a great holiday all round, we will be booking again for next year, thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 4 in Berrynarbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grattons Cedar Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grattons Cedar Lodges

Property: Grattons Cedar Lodges
Address: Hagginton Hill | Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grattons Cedar Lodges are set within a picturesque hillside garden location on the edge of the award winning village of Berrynarbor in North Devon with stunning valley and sea views. Positioned just a mile away from Exmoor National Park and close to some of the best beaches in the country. It's an ideal base from which to explore the scenery of North Devon or just to relax in the peace and tranquility of the garden setting. For visitors looking to enjoy the great outdoors there is fishing, tennis, horse riding and golf nearby as well as easy access to the moors for walking and rambling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grattons Cedar Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grattons Cedar Lodges Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing