We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS”
Review of Brookdales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookdales
Ranked #24 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Find this little gem of a place, and what could we say, its 5 star treatment at 2 star rates, you cant go wrong with this place, Christine is a first class host, on our arrival, we was greeted with a large pot of tea, and a brief chat, breakfast was ample and excellent, room was lovely and clean, we will be going back. Melvyn and Christine from Derby

Room Tip: read above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyted611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Brookdales for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer!
After a warm welcome from Christine we were shown to our rooms which far surpassed our expectations for such a reasonable price. The bed was immaculately clean and comfortable and the little touches such as limitless tea, coffee, biscuits and water provided in the room made all the difference after a long journey. The bathrooms and dining areas were all clean, well decorated and presented with the guests comfort in mind.
The breakfast was outstanding with good quality local produce, a perfectly ample portion to set you up for the day. It's worth sampling Christine's evening meals as it must be said, she is an outstanding cook.
I would highly recommend this wonderful little B&B.

Room Tip: My room was the double with the separate large bathroom with bath and shower on the first floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at Brookdales for one night whilst on a short break in Ilfracombe. We received a hearty welcome from Christine, who could not have been more obliging or helpful. Our on-suite room was spacious and comfortable, the welcome tray well stocked, and the on-suite well equipped. A lovely full English breakfast was provided and free wi-fi was also available. Brookdales is in a quiet location but just a few minutes walk from the town centre and Tunnels Beach. Tunnels Beach is well worth a visit whilst you are in Ilfracombe, as too is The Ilfracombe Fryer which serves fantastic fish and chips. All-in-all a lovely place for an over-night stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had to go to Ilfracombe for just one night for a funeral so booked Brookdales at the last minute but was not disappointed.We stopped in the en-suite room which was spacious and clean.The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and there was bottled water on the night stand.The shower ensuit was spacious and contained everything you would need.We had a comfortable night and looked forward to the breakfast.The breakfast was served between 9 and 10am but as we were setting off early the proprietor cooked us an early breakfast at 7.30am. The full english was well cooked and good produce and there was lots of tea/coffee and toast and the home made whisky marmalade was lovely.There was also cereals/jam/juice and a vegetarian option available.We had a comfortable stay and if we are passing will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked for one night. Christine gave us a hearty welcome, and showed us to our lovely room. She has a real knack for design, and our room was very thoughfully laid out and attractive. We had bottled water on our bedside table, and a bottle for the kettle. Everything was spotless. Our room was not en-suite, but the bathroom for our use was beautiful, and had a balcony which we could use. My husband enjoyed sitting out there in the morning with his coffee. We had a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was A+! Great selection of cereal and juice, and fresh fruit, which was a nice touch. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and we went away full and satisfied. Christine had a front room which we could use (we did not, but if we'd stayed for more than one night, we may have), and I was able to use the wifi from there. She's a short walk to the harbour, and we had great fish and chips at Lynbay F&C on the harbour. We had gotten a very good deal on our room, and we both agreed we would like to pay more than what she had asked. So in the spirit of 'Four in a Bed' (which i love!), we overpaid her for our stay. Christine is an excellent host, and you would struggle to find fault with her rooms. I'm sure there's a lot of competition in Ilfracombe, but you would not find a more welcoming place than Brookdales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Had a one night stay for my Partner and my birthdays. Christine was very welcoming when we arrived. Room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast was great, lots of choice to accommodate all tastes and it was cooked to perfection with more offered if required. Excellent value for money, you could easily expect to pay lots more for the same standard of room and service. A real gem in a lovely part of the country. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had a great 2 night stay. Christine was extremely accommodating on our arrival and throughout. Clean and tidy bedroom. Breakfast was great. Cooked and choice of cereal and fruit which you would have to pay loads for at prem inn and t'lodge. Great value for money and just enhanced our stay in a beautiful part of the country. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#31 of 53 in Ilfracombe
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#15 of 53 in Ilfracombe
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookdales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookdales

Property: Brookdales
Address: 23 Brookdale Avenue, Ilfracombe EX34 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Brookdales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookdales Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing