We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chippy in devon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynbay Fish and Chips

Lynbay Fish and Chips
Ranked #7 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chippy in devon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Once again an enjoyable experience. A very warm and friendly welcome for repeat customers and amazing food, perfect for playing the tourist whilst visiting family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8Jones_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. You are clearly a regular tourist so we look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    103
    38
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips - Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was recommended to use this chippy and so glad we did. Excellent fish and chips. Very tasty. Had extra portions of mushy peas which were so large we could have shared. Toilet facilities were excellent. Very clean and I noticed they provided nappies and wipes for babies.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy62wem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fishtastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited this fantastic fish and chip shop during a day trip to Illfracoombe yesterday with our two children and all I can say is fantastic!! This restaurant takes being child friendly to the maximum!! DVD players in the restaurant playing children's films and the kids meals were served in buckets and spades which they were allowed to keep to take to the beach!! After the fantastic and extremely fresh food the girls were given a chocolate bunny for pudding!! FOC!!! Would recommend this restaurant to anybody...especially those with children!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traylo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived in Ilfracombe after a long journey from Yorkshire. We walked towards the harbour hoping to get into one of the restaurants but most were closed. However, we found the Lynbay and went in for takeaway fish and chips. What a great decisions. They cooked them fresh for us and they were delicious. There are several other fish and chips shops in Ilfracombe (and we did try another one) but this was the best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty fish & chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our party of 18 stopped here for fish and chips after an evening of crabbing on the harbour. It was busy inside but the service was efficient and the food was delicious. The fish isn't heavily battered and it was all cooked fresh while wet waited. The fish cakes, sausages and saveloy were all tasty too! Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lynbay Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Lynbay Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing