We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant”
Review of Verity Statue

Verity Statue
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Giant”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very interesting to view this Damian Hurst statue, an exceptional peice and very interesting to look at. It stands so tall you need to stand back to get it in a photo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    410
    244
    73
    207
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“people do not understand the meaning behind verity”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Verity is a stainless steel and bronze statue created by Damien Hirst. The 67-foot (20 m) tall sculpture stands on the pier in Ilfracombe, Devon and looks out over the harbour.[1][2] It has been loaned to the town for 20 years. The name of the piece refers to "truth" and Hirst describes his work as a "modern allegory of truth and justice".

The statue depicts a pregnant woman holding aloft a sword while carrying the scales of justice and standing on a pile of law books. Half of the sculpture shows the internal anatomy of the pregnant woman, with the unborn baby clearly visible. The stance has been described as a reference to Little Dancer of Fourteen Years by Edgar Degas, a work that previously inspired Hirst when he created Virgin Mother.

The sculpture was cast in stainless steel and bronze in 40 separate sections by Pangolin Editions. The sword, which gives the statue much of its height, and the upper left arm is one polymer-strengthened fibre glass piece. Before being cleared for erection the statue was subjected to tests in a wind tunnel to ensure that it could cope with high winds and spray from the sea. Measuring 10 inches higher than the Angel of the North, Verity became the tallest statue in the UK when it was put into place.

Members of North Devon Council referred to the controversial nature of the statue as a potential boost to tourism. Local reaction was very mixed, with those critical of the work calling it "ugly" and stating that "it isn't suitable for a Victorian seaside town". Before they allowed planning permission the council received 100 letters from people who objected to the installation of the statue, and 177 letters supporting the application. In August 2013 councillors announced that the statue had a "tremendous effect" with people visiting the town solely to see Hirst's work.

Hirst, who lives in Ilfracombe, has loaned the statue to the town for 20 years starting from its erection on 16 October 2012.

This really is a remarkable piece of work, its just a shame that people do not understand the meaning behind it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
19 Thank stephangel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I did not know this statue was here, we just went to Ilfracombe to look around and enjoy being near the sea, but I must say I was impressed when I saw this statue. I can understand that some find it repelling but both the statue itself as the spot where it is placed are beautiful in my opinion.
I would just have liked a bit more explanation as to who made it and what it represents. Only after seeing it I heard it was made by Damien Hirst, and that raised my opinion of his talent and skills.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim_Rijksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Weird!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

An impressive sight, but somewhat on the weird side! Worth a visit as the harbour is lovely and there's some awesome ice cream to be had!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eww and yuck”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Most reviews are by adults. This is different- I am Jessica age 12. Here is my review of Verity.

"A 66-foot tall bronze, pregnant nude, her skin flayed open down one side to reveal her organs and unborn child, stands astride a pile of legal textbooks." description on website.

I pity Ilfracombe. The harbour is a beautiful place but Verity is a rude, unwanted and disgusting statue. She scares my sister, age three and she calls her "The scary baby lady" and we never go to the harbour for fear of seeing that eyesore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank MermaidLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verity Statue also viewed

 

Been to Verity Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing