We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Ilfracombe...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verity Statue

Verity Statue
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great for Ilfracombe...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Was surfing in North Devon and made a special visit to Ilfracombe to see Verity. I can see why Damien Hirst did it, it is thought provoking, it is typically contraversial - but I personally did not really like it. The facial expression is not sufficiently lifelike to me and the vision of a dissected pregnant woman is not right whatever the message is.
BUT - I think it is a great tribute to Damien Hirst as a man that he would contribute this as a loan to Ilfracombe, and it attracts a different crowd to the town than would normally visit. I hope it does the area good as Ilfracombe is a lovely town, but has become somewhat rundown over the years.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    383
    226
    68
    195
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Strange !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This statue certainly stands out. It's a case of love it or loath it! I wasn't sure what I felt about it but I do love ilfracombe harbour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“You will either love it or hate it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Like marmite, you will either love or hate verity. I happen to love her. We had no idea she existed; the last time we visited ilfracombe was 20 years ago so we did not expect to see the giant verity when we walked down to the harbour, but there she was! She's not to everyone's taste, but I liked what she stood for (justice for unborn babies) and she is definitely a talking point with everyone who sees her. She's only going to be there for twenty years.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Giant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very interesting to view this Damian Hurst statue, an exceptional peice and very interesting to look at. It stands so tall you need to stand back to get it in a photo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“people do not understand the meaning behind verity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Verity is a stainless steel and bronze statue created by Damien Hirst. The 67-foot (20 m) tall sculpture stands on the pier in Ilfracombe, Devon and looks out over the harbour.[1][2] It has been loaned to the town for 20 years. The name of the piece refers to "truth" and Hirst describes his work as a "modern allegory of truth and justice".

The statue depicts a pregnant woman holding aloft a sword while carrying the scales of justice and standing on a pile of law books. Half of the sculpture shows the internal anatomy of the pregnant woman, with the unborn baby clearly visible. The stance has been described as a reference to Little Dancer of Fourteen Years by Edgar Degas, a work that previously inspired Hirst when he created Virgin Mother.

The sculpture was cast in stainless steel and bronze in 40 separate sections by Pangolin Editions. The sword, which gives the statue much of its height, and the upper left arm is one polymer-strengthened fibre glass piece. Before being cleared for erection the statue was subjected to tests in a wind tunnel to ensure that it could cope with high winds and spray from the sea. Measuring 10 inches higher than the Angel of the North, Verity became the tallest statue in the UK when it was put into place.

Members of North Devon Council referred to the controversial nature of the statue as a potential boost to tourism. Local reaction was very mixed, with those critical of the work calling it "ugly" and stating that "it isn't suitable for a Victorian seaside town". Before they allowed planning permission the council received 100 letters from people who objected to the installation of the statue, and 177 letters supporting the application. In August 2013 councillors announced that the statue had a "tremendous effect" with people visiting the town solely to see Hirst's work.

Hirst, who lives in Ilfracombe, has loaned the statue to the town for 20 years starting from its erection on 16 October 2012.

This really is a remarkable piece of work, its just a shame that people do not understand the meaning behind it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
16 Thank stephangel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verity Statue also viewed

 

Been to Verity Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing