We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great holiday”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had another great holiday at Lincombe house, Richenda and Kathy we're very friendly and welcoming and left us some doggy treats for our lab. They helped us from the start by getting the cleaners to start on our accommodation first as we got to lincombe earlier than normal and was completed when we got there. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. The kitchen isn't big but it doesn't need to be, we won't be baking just breakfast and dinner. The living room has every thing you need and is spacious for myself my wife and 3 teenage boys. The dining table couldn't seat 5 of us but the boys didn't want to sit with us so took it in turns to eat on the settee. The bedrooms are adequate for what we needed them to be and we had good night sleeps. The shower took some time to get used to but when we did we had no problems. The garden is lovely and had some great views. The boys didn't get bored because of the games room playing table tennis, pool and darts. The cottage is about a 10 minute drive to the fantastic woolacombe beach. And for the walkers out there the walk to woolacombe has some amazing views. Lee is just down the road and has a small beach and rock pools. Overall we had a great time the cottage is perfect for us we love woolacombe and we've booked for next year in hillymouth cottage and can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarr...
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife, I and our dog stayed at Stable Cottage in early July 2016 (and were joined later by our daughter and her boyfriend). The cottage was very comfortable and spacious for the five of us; and all the facilities were very clean and plentiful. We had access to good quality WIFI throughout our stay and the games room (with darts, table tennis and pool) was great fun and greatly used by us. (Even the dog got excited in there!)
The beds were warm and comfortable; and as the cottage was in a quiet location we slept like logs every night.
Stable cottage has its own private terrace (with garden table & chairs) and overlooked the main Lincombe House garden which was huge and beautiful; with views to the sea at Lee bay. The private terrace was ours exclusively; but it was also made clear to us that we (including the dog) were welcome to use the main garden (which we did often).
The locality is fantastic; being only 10 mins from Ilfracombe (a lovely, large seaside town); and only 10 mins from Woolacombe (in my opinion the best beach in the UK).
There are lots of charming pubs and places to eat nearby.
I cannot close this review without saying something about the owners; Richenda and Cathy. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we're extremely helpful with any queries and requests we had (and we're a great laugh conversationally as well). They are very caring people; who are extremely dog friendly.
This was the second time we had stayed with Richenda and Cathy; and on each occasion we have enjoyed our stay so much that we have immediately booked again for the following year. (We will be there again in July 2018!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location with ok accomodation”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived as a family of 5. First impressions a little disappointing :(. The owner insisted in meeting us but seemed off on the phone. Came in and said all was self explanatory so felt the greet was more a vetting process. We expected a lovely stable conversion but was plain and basic. Small tv, table for 4 so one had to eat on the sofa all week. Sofas for 4, small kitchen without sufficient equipment to cook a decent meal for a family of 5. Small oven without extra baking trays, no idea how to work oven as markings rubbed off and wrote on with pen that was partially rubbed off. No instructions found for microwave and not like one we have at home. Many chipped glasses and plates. Dirty cutlery holder. Shower lovely providing no one uses water in kitchen at the same time then you risk a scolding. Games room had no pool balls when we went to play so had to ask and at first replied we are having dinner but at least came along shortly after to release balls stuck inside blaming previous family for it not working. No trampoline this was in bits under the table remind table. Table football pushed in the corner, Unlevel and rusty. Toilet roll was half a roll and there was no hand soap and only the bin bag that was in the bin.

The biggest perk of the accommodation was its location and what I can only assume is people’s previously left belongings. Wind breaks but no hammer, buckets and spades, and small surf boards free to be used. We used the buckets and spades as we forgot ours and with Woolacombe beach 10 mins away it was a heavenly bonus.

All in all this location is great access to ilfracombe and Woolacombe but only to rest and realistically only provides accomodation for a family of 4. If you are looking for a warm cottage we feel stable cottage isn’t for you. It’s decor and furnishings are not inkeeping with the age or style of the property. It has more a feeling of a rented flat. We felt the accomodation over priced for what we got. Don’t forget all essentials - toilet rolls etc you will need them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you for providing your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were left disappointed with your chosen property. I can see from the photographs on the website that the property provides seating for 4x, and the kitchen area is a fairly cosy space, which we appreciate may not be suitable for your requirements. Our agents are always on hand to assist, should you experience any issues at a property. If we can be of any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact us directly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing