We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow - simply fantastic!”
other traveller has booked this property
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Quarry.  The house is South facing, so you have the sun all day, and amazing views.
Terrace off the dining room, this leads round to the wendy house & up to the back garden.
Ilfracombe's pretty harbour surrounded by cafes, restaurants & galleries. A 15 min walk away.
First floor family bathroom, large rain shower & vintage bathtub.
'secret garden' perfect for hiding away with a book.
Woolacombe Bay in peak season.  This beach often has great surf, its a 10 min drive from The Quarry.
Kitchen
Back garden top terrace - magnificent views!  The garden has many terraces, its perfect for kids.
Hallway, lots of room for shoes & coats.
Sitting room open fire, you'll find lots of logs in the conservatory.
Tunnels Beaches, a 5 min walk from The Quarry.  There's 2 other beaches & a big tidal pool.
Beautiful cliffs at the back of the house, see the coast path snaking over the hill.
The Quarry.  South facing, so you have the sun all day.  Set in 1/2 acre of private gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emilyjane...
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow - simply fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself, small children and a large group of friends stayed here in July for my husbands 40th. I have stayed in a variety of holiday houses all over the UK and this one was simply outstanding. A fabulous size with every room subtly, simply yet beautifully done out. Each bedroom is great - no one feels left out. The attention to detail is fantastic. The outdoor space was fab for bbqing and the kids to run around. Loads of little places for them to explore, they were in heaven. Also it is incredibly private. There was nothing we needed which was not there, as can often be the case.
The drive is steep, but absolutely fine once you get the hang of it. The tunnels beach is literally just at the bottom of the road - the location of the house is fab. I am very much looking forward to returning.
With all inquiries the owner was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V O
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Loved it!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a really wonderful weekend in this beautiful house. Cosy log fires during the windy storms and beautiful coastal walks in the post storm sunshine. A light, bright and very stylishly decorated house with lovely artwork and creative furniture around every corner. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was equipped with everything we needed - a home away from home with a warm aga in the heart of the house, perfect for breakfast pancakes!
We found a lovely pizza restaurant in Ilfracombe called Relish - tasty food and child friendly. The children also enjoyed giant hot chocolates with whipped cream and marshmallows at the Damien Hirst café. There were long and short walks to suit all so we didn't need to get in the car at all (though a short drive to the amazing sandy stretches at Woolacombe was enjoyed).
All in all a fabulous house, in a stunning coastal spot with lots to explore... We'll definitely be going back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location for family gatherings”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked this property expecting awful weather, so the house itself had to be good. We were not disappointed. It was stylish and comfortable without losing any of its Victorian character. There was loads of space for 12 people ( age range 15 - 94), it was spotlessly clean and well equipped. It was warm and cosy despite it being February, and the log fires in the evenings were a real treat.
The only daunting feature was the ridiculously steep driveway but we got used to it.
The coast path is only 5 minutes from the back door and we walked to the Grampus pub in the next village for an excellent lunch. Ilfracombe harbour, where you can see Damien Hurst's wierd sculpture, is 10 minutes walk down the hill (20 mins up again!) , Woolacombe and Croyde beaches are only minutes away by car.
We had a wonderful stay, and even the weather obliged after all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The elegant and comfortable ambience
Liked least: The driveway!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Quarry, I really appreciate it. We're delighted you had a good stay & enjoyed the house. Best wishes, Kirstie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimparkle...
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It is a long way to get here but once you do, you will see why”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We rented this property for an extended family reunion. 10 adults, 7 kids ages 5-15. The property is located on Torrs Park, which is a pretty chic area of Ilfacrombe, with other nice larger houses around it. It is also on a very quiet street. The first thing you have to know is that the pitch of the driveway is ridiculously steep and narrow. If you have a car bigger than a midsize sedan, forget it, and you need to make a hairpin turn. But once you are up the drive, the views from the house are pretty sensational. The layout is very logical and intuitive, with a large kitchen on the left and the connected dining and living rooms on the right, with french doors leading from the dining room to a small but nice deck. There is no large patch of grass per se so you would have to go down to the quay to get some open patches of grass. There are 7 bedrooms and I believe 5 total bathrooms, some full, some not. But overall, the layout of the bedrooms was intuitive and most rooms well sized and logical. The furnishings are very tasteful, slightly modern and minimalist but this would be a nice place for a photoshoot for a home or lifestyle magazine. I never met or spoke with the owner, but I did email her, and she was very helpful and responsive about things from catering to getting airport transfer to LHR. The caterer we used was excellent and frankly not bad value considering how much we eat. We booked the house for a week to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary, and I do believe everyone enjoyed it. For the kids and adults, the wifi was strong and worked well as was the sky tv. We have done about 8-10 other extended family holidays from Vancouver to Cape Cod to Costa del Sol Spain, Nantucket, Bath, etc, but this house by far was the best, not only in terms of comfort, but also from a design and aesthetic point of view. The only minor quibble is that none of us could figure out how to use the ice dispenser in the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the bedrooms
Liked least: The driveway is a nightmare
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran C
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

11 of us wanted a large house in which to spend a weekend celebrating mine and another friends birthdays. The Quarry looked beautiful on the website, and I'm happy to say that the reality matched the web!

From the warm scones and cream tea on arrival, to the beautifully restored and decorated house, to the logs for the fire, every aspect of the house was just lovely.

It feels like a home, and not just a holiday rental. And we all felt very comfortable and relaxed. Would love to come back in the Summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Period property with modern touches
Liked least: Walk up the drive!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisylady...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect house for our group of friends and all our children”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I totally agree with the previous review. The cream tea waiting for us was lovely after the long drive from London. The Ren products were a nice touch. I would urge guests to look in the cupboards, whatever you're looking for is probably there e.g. potty, plenty of extra bedding, pillows, steriliser for baby bottles, etc etc. The bedrooms were all superb (as previous reviewer said), the toy box was well stocked so I needn't have taken toys or books for the children. Lots of rooms to explore and they loved the play house outside. I wish we'd have had chance to go halfway down the driveway to the secret garden! It looks lovely.
The house is really close to the shops and beach. We went to the Tunnels Beaches at the bottom of the road (there is a soft play place there too). It was my first time in Devon and I wasn't used to so many hills so I did struggle to get my car up the steep driveway (I drive a slightly underpowered large MPV) but my friends didn't struggle in their estate cars so it may have been my terrible driving! ;)
Sainsburys was the only online delivery that served this address so we booked a delivery for day of arrival.
The instructions for all the appliances were easy to find (I definitely needed them for the non-AGA oven). SkyPlus and wifi all working fine (although we didn't have the PIN for the movie channels, couldn't find it in the Information Folder)
The artwork round the house is lovely, a mix of traditional style and modern. Paintings by the owner look great and the beds made of what looks like reclaimed wood were lovely too. Great atmosphere at this house, I would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms, lovely furnishings, sea view, scones
Liked least: nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally g
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect house for family and friends”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From the moment we arrived, we all loved The Quarry; spacious, clean, beautifully appointed (each room had plus points so nobody felt short changed, and there was no need to draw lots for rooms like we usually do!), lovely bed linen, large well appointed bathrooms. Complimentary Ren products and welcome food basics including cream tea on arrival were such a nice touch. Lovely aga and alternative oven for non-aga lovers.
Loads of crockery and kitchen equipment - 15 of us continuously eating and drinking and we never ran short of anything and found everything we needed. Logs for the open fire, endless ice for the gin and tonics...
Fantastic location; we enjoyed the walks, the town of Ilfracombe (beware transition seasons like June - lots of good local restaurants seem to be closed Sun to Tues inclusive), local yoga (http://www.facebook.com/breathingyoga) and the pub in the nearby village of Lee, plus all the other recommendations made by the kind owners (google 'The Quarry' website for details).
We felt the house had the perfect mix of style, comfort and taste, we settled in and relaxed immediately. It felt comfortable, up market and homely but uncluttered with great artwork and lighting, modern frnishings, audiovisual equipment etc.
We had sun too! So lucky as the rest of the UK seemed to be suffering a rain deluge at the time. We we all loved having breakfast and coffee on the sunny terrace but I am quite sure we'd have loved the house even if the weather hadn't been so obliging.
Truly fantastic house, it's going to be hard to find another one so good for next time.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space and style
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$333
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing