We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views--of bouncy castles”

Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park
Ranked #66 of 122 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: US$3 - US$22
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Larkstone is superbly situated with stunning views over Ilfracombe harbour and Bristol channel along with incredible Sunset views. It has indoor and outdoor seating with large games lawns and a play area. A must visit when in Ilfracombe. The restaurant is fully licenced and he menu has all of the Family favourites, Daily specials, Sunday roast dinners and an Sharing platters. Live music is on most weekend evenings and Sunday lunches.What better place to enjoy lunch or a sunset dinner on your own or with the whole family?Also: Walkers and dog friendly as Larkstone is located 50 yards off the SW costal path. Larkstone is found by the Ilfracombe swimming pool 5 mins. walk up from the harbour.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having read some favourable reviews we thought Larkstones was worth a visit.
We were very disappointed, yes Larkstones is set in a lovely location with panoramic coastal views so why spoil it with two enormous bouncy castles? If you want a quiet meal this is not the place for you, it was pandemonium when we arrived, clearly a place for kids parties.

The menu was very dissapointing, however if you like burgers and chips you are spoilt for choice.

Lovely place for children's parties but not for anything else. We found far better eating places in Ilfracombe already mentioned on Trip Advisor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I am reading your review two days later on a glorious evening as the sun sets , Our diners are currently enjoying steak platters and garlic prawn specials as the sun sets and I cant help thinking that if you were dining here with us tonight your review would be very different.

Yes, We are a very popular local family venue and if you visit us on a busy weekend (Such as fathers day when you visited us) we will have lots of children enjoying the play facilities and lawns that our very unique venue offers.

Our menu is more than Burgers (Perhaps you only saw this one page) please look on our website, we have salads, lunches, steaks, tapas dishes, sharing platters, fish dishes as well as a specials.( Our food is freshly cooked to order including the homemade juicy burgers)

Perhaps you will visit us at again and if you call us prior to you visit we can advise you if there are any events happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We waited an hour for food and when it came the order was half missing. OK we got a refund but that really was not the point, there is no excuse for bad service. We wasted an hour sitting around waiting and felt we were just being ignored. Very disappointed, we will not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 192simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Unfortunately you visited us this time without booking on a very busy Fathers day lunch time. It was explained on taking your order that there was a significant wait for food orders unless you have booked. I also spoke to you personally several times.

The majority of our menu is homemade and our food is freshly cooked to order, we also do not compromise on quality, so at very busy times it is always explained to customers if there is a significant wait up front so they can make an informed choice at the time.

I am disappointed that you did not accept my sincere apology and full refund for the error on your order. I hope that you will revisit us as you will find that this is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Really good food and nice wine, and the view is amazing! It's great to sit outside and watch the sunset when the weather's good, although the view from inside is just as nice through the windows! I found this place as the Ilfracombe Ukulele Club joins there on a Tuesday evening (which is great fun!) and have since returned!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LUCY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thankyou for your lovely review. The sunsets this year are being consistently amazing and Larkstone is uniquely positioned to enjoy the best of Ilfracombe sunsets.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The play facilities for young children are quite limited. The lunch time food was most enjoyable and on a nice day this venue is well worth a visit.

Thank eagle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear eagle1986, Thankyou for taking the time to review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Larkstone.
We do have a play area with lots of toys and extensive lawns away from roads and the bussle of town so are usually popular with families with young children (perhaps the toys and bouncy castles were not out on your visit?) We would welcome your suggestions on how we can improve these play facilities.

We loom forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We love to meet here with our young family and dog lots of space outside and away from hustle and bustle of town amazing views and walks on the doorstep and fantastic food esp. Breakfasts and brownies ! Although maybe not together ! Lovely owners thankyou .

Thank carogDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theadds, Owner at Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thankyou for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Larkstone. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park also viewed

 

Been to Larkstone Family Restaurant and Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing