We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming Pub”
Review of Ship & Pilot

Ship & Pilot
Ranked #3 of 9 Nightlife in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming Pub”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We discovered this pub as we drove past it looking for our hotel, we noticed the CAMRA signs outside so knew we had to visit later. When we popped in later we discovered they were holding a cider festival. There must have been around 50 different ciders and perrys, with a great selection from 4% up to super strong and from sweet to very dry. The best cider selection I've seen at a cider festival.
The pub was very welcoming, the landlord, landlady and staff were all friendly and approachable. There is a real mix of people that get in this pub which made for a great atmosphere.
The pub doesn't serve food, but the locals and the landlord were great at recommending local places to eat.
Would definitely love to visit again and if you're in Ilfracombe it's a place you must go to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandyw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Nick and his staff gave us a superb welcome in a great atmosphere. The beer was superbly kept but as he was hosting the May bank Holiday cider festival that was the way to go. I have never seen a wider selection of real cider and perry and after tasting and enjoying 31 different varieties over two days Nick went above and beyond when he went to the cellar to find us a final different perry to finish our stay. My first visit to the town and the pub but I am sure to be back. Thanks for everything. Mike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

no more than a average real ale and cider pub had about 5 real beers on 2 ciders.been in better pubs in devon and cornwall..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Glad we found this place!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent a brilliant afternoon in this pub sampling the real ales and cider. It is obviously a place that locals go to but we certainly were made to feel welcome. The locals spoke to us and we had a great time!! My husband and I both said that we would visit Ilfracombe again just to go to the Ship and Pilot!!!
If you are visiting Ilfracombe then you would be crazy not to go in for a drink or two!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This pub is the best, bar none, in this town. The range of real ales and ciders have to be sampled to be believed. If that isn't enough then there are plenty of local characters to become acquanted with whilst supping your chosen brew. Visit and enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailor1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship & Pilot also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Ship & Pilot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing