We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HI DE OH NO !!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Coast Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Park
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“HI DE OH NO !!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

After a long drive I cannot describe my dismay when we arrived at this place ......
Whilst not expecting top drawer accommodation from this kind of place what we were met with was like something out of a time warp !!!!
The 'chalet' smelt like something had died (about 40 years ago ) in it and it was unclean to say the least , but what sealed it for me was the bath .....filth pure filth ......
we had checked in at 4pm and by 4.30 were up the road searching for somewhere else to stay ....
Luckily we did find somewhere , and did enjoy our visit to Devon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T_H_E_B_O_S_S079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Coast Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I am sorry the park was not to your taste but as you were able to see, it is a very popular place. The chalets in question were used prior to your arrival and subsequently with no problems.

However, I am pleased to hear that the staff recognised your distress immediately and went out of their way to look after you and settle the matter quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    3
    8
    9
See reviews for
16
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just back from a week staying in the 5 bed apartment attached to the old manor house and all I can say is we were very disappointed. The whole apartment was extremely run down, carpets were stained and worn, paintwork patchy, wooden floor full of holes and dirty, bathrooms extremely poor. Considering the apartment could sleep 12, only having one tiny shower was really not adequate. The main complex across the road was also disappointing. The swimming pool was only open until 6pm but the lifeguard kicked everyone out at 5.30pm which is ridiculously early considering the park was full during school holidays, the changing room was just a tiny room with a bench in and was dirty every time we went so had to walk back to apartment wrapped in towel!! Shop on site was not really very good but luckily Tesco was only 5 minutes away. Food available on the site was awful so after the one experience we didn't bother. This part of North Devon is extremely beautiful and we would definitely go back but certainly not to this holiday park

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank partner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Coast Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. This is the first negative review that we have received for this accommodation.

The main complex was newly built in 2010 so as you will appreciate it is difficult to know how to respond to your observations. I am sorry to hear that the Holiday Park was not to your taste and that this then spoilt your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I only read one review that was available to me and felt it was incredibly over rated. We stayed in the little section across the road from the main park and it was nice and quiet with a nice grassy patch outside the Manor house to take advantage of. The apartment was clean but in need of an update, just things like finning in gapped skirting boards and little bits of TLC would make a huge improvement. There were just the two of us staying but were put in a two bed apartment. However this could usually be given to a party of six! We immediately went to reception simply because the double room was a large single bed, it did not even reach the end of the headboard! We were told that these are standard sized doubles, they were standards clearly set by the park and did not even meet a caravan sized double. The two single beds were of different heights and so could not be pushed together. We were told we would have to sleep separately or used the old and pretty grubby sofa bed. So we spent the week sleeping apart. There were two plug sockets in the whole apartment, neither of which was by the fixed mirror in the bedroom. One was in the kitchen area to share between three appliances, the other for the TV. I usually like a mirror when I am doing my hair and didn't think a portable mirror is something I needed to pack. So only small annoyances but easily fixed if you are aware. Nice entertainment area with lovely bar staff although the actual entertainment was poor bar one act. Pool looked clean but wasn't open past tea time. I would return here again for a cheap break but would not pay full price as I would then be very disappointed. It is a nice exploration base but be prepared to walk lots or use the bus service which does not seem to run by any timetable and stops at around six. A taxi however, is only about £3-4 into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtytory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Coast Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
4.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.5 mi away
Acorn Lodge
Acorn Lodge
#24 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#1 of 26 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Park

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast Holiday Park is set in the grounds of a grand manor house, providing quiet and secluded accommodation for anybody staying at this site. The house has been converted into self-catering apartments and there are another sixteen holiday chalets available for visitors.By staying at Golden Coast Holiday Park, you get to use all the facilities of Ilfracombe Holiday Park as well, which means you get access to the heated swimming pool, sauna, the Exmoor Club (which has free nightly entertainment) and the site’s restaurant, takeaway and shop. There are also play areas for the kids so you know they won’t be bored.You’ll also be able to use the site’s laundrette, free Wi-Fi in the clubhouse and internet cafe, so you don’t have to leave all your comforts at home. The peace and quiet this site offers is very different to anything you’ve experienced at a holiday park before. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing