We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, cosy, quiet and unique. Absolutely ideal for families.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy, quiet and unique. Absolutely ideal for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked this hotel at very short notice for 1 night as a more comfortable extension to our camping trip...what a find. Our party was 2 adults, 2 children (5 & 8 years) and 2 16 year old lads and while it was not cheap we certainly got great value. On arrival our family room wasn't ready due to us only booking 30 mins before arrival but the friendly lady on reception suggested we use the indoor swimming pool while we waited. Nice big pool, lovely warm water, inflatables, flippers, goggles and balls were all there for us to use, there is a sauna which is £1.00 for 10 minutes, the only downside was by the time sauna had warmed up, the lads had run out of £1.00 coins (maybe the hotel could provide the first pound or 2 to warm it up?)
The rooms (1 double for the boys and a family room for us and the girls) were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The double room had a great view over the garden and tennis court and out over the hills and fields.
We didn't have dinner but breakfast next day was great. Cereal, pastries, and a great and plentiful selection of good quality 'full English' items all freshly cooked to order.
The check out time was 10am (I think) but as the kids were all enjoying it so much we asked the hotel if we could possibly check out a little later. Luckily this was no problem and we were told to enjoy ourselves and leave when we were ready. After the kids had exhausted themselves on the trampoline and in the games room which is a little 'tired' but totally fit for purpose, (table football, table tennis, pool table and a huge DVD selection which I presume are played on the projector in there. My only suggestion would be that a £5.00 investment on some new screw in pool cue tips would make all the difference), we finally checked out at about 2.00pm.
If you have a family and want to stay somewhere quiet, away from the towns that has plenty on site to keep them amused but also be within 'touching distance' of Croyde, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe etc then definitely consider a few nights here. Thanks Trimstone, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Rich C

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you had a good time with us and that the whole family enjoyed its stay. Thank you for confirming that certain prior reviews may not quite reflect the reality as you really ,experienced here! That does say something about 'the system' and its integrity sadly.

We do try our hardest and as a three star Hotel, are aiming at comfortable homeliness at a very fair price and with facilities on top, with dependable and good quality food too. We aren't one star but we don't want to be five star with prices to match either!

It is always pleasing to ourselves and the staff that the efforts are appreciated, so thank you very much for that - whilst recognizing, of course, that a characterful property with roots before Domesday will be a constant job of work to maintain and improve too! Of course, we also realize we shan't please everybody all of the time either but we hope we appeal to those more likely to feel at home here rather than the 'wrong' types for which we're not designed.

Sorry about the sauna - we do note that it is coin operated in the blurb (something we inherited) but already we do give the first couple of coins gladly - sorry that wasn't noted. However, I've added this to our introductory letter as well now so that hopefully all guests will know that in future so thanks for the mention!

Sorry too about the pool cue tips - we have a great big bag of those but hadn't appreciated that the ones in use needed replacing - always happy to oblige with things that we don't check every day - just ask and we'll do our best.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review - we shall look forward to having you stay again and perhaps for longer; don't forget too that we have some self-catering cottages here as well - useful to explore all that North Devon has and without the worry of the weather!

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    20
    14
    16
See reviews for
51
62
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2014, our room was adjacent to the main building. The hotel is in a nice country location, but just because it is in the country is no excuse for letting the place go! I wasn't expecting the Ritz butI had to kill at least 30 spiders before going to bed, there were webs in every corner of the room. The shower leaked allover the floor (and yes we did inform the staff ) there was a resident slug also in the shower room. The window frames were dirty and rotten with webs inside and out.The bed was clean but behind the furniture it was very dusty. The staff mainly young girls in extremely short skirts did a good job in the restaurant although the food was very basic.
When I am paying someone my hard earned money to stay in their establishment I do expect it to be at least up to the standard of my own home which is well decorated and clean!
We had a look at the pool area but this again looked dirty so we gave it a miss. I have read some of the other guests reviews, and the hotels owners unprofessional replies. Maybe if the owner could listen to these criticisms and act on them, instead he seems to prefer launching personal attacks on his guests. Maybe if the owner sent less time on his computer and more time with a chamois in his hand there wouldn't be any criticisms ,or maybe drop one of his jobs as he clearly can't do both.I have attached photos for travellers to view.

Room Tip: better in the main building apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank pontski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mrs Pontski

We were surprised to read your review. Surely this can't be the delightful lady who stayed with the vintage car group can it, a lady who has waited almost two months to scribe her rather snide comments? Was this the couple who chose to stay an extra night after they originally booked? No, it can't be!

Frankly, I am somewhat speechless. From unsolicited comments from other members of the large group with over forty in all (we had to turn away some guests as we were brimful), everyone thought the whole weekend was superb and with unsolicited comments such as the 'best weekend the group had ever had'. Of course this is the trouble with TripAdvisor; one person of a really successful group who thinks she has a God-given right to list each and every negative little criticism she can, whether founded or not and the rest of the busy, affluent and influential party from the UK and Europe who left lovely comments and in the Guestbook and with plenty of pledges of return visits - but not on TripAdvisor, so they don't appear.

The staff were wonderful that weekend and working especially hard to make sure the whole party's needs were catered-for and with a superb Gala Dinner with menu agreed with the organizers (and at the price) in advance for the Saturday night. It had such 'very basic food' as home-baked 'Moroccan Lamb Shank and Colcannon Mash and Mediterranean Vegetable Medley' to 'Trimstone Slow-roasted Belly Pork stuffed with Apple, Apricot, Carrot, Onion, Celery and braised in a lightly spiced Apple Juice'. Your dinner must have been spoilt by their black and white uniforms and 'extremely short skirts'.

You never complained to me and I circulated at dinner and on several other occasions. Everything was all smiles and there were plenty of opportunities to raise any minor issues or special requests which would have received attention there and then. Quite a few of the party stayed extra nights in fact - must have been because we were awful hosts and provided such dreadful accommodation I suppose. I'll look forward to reading the damning report in the Club's next magazine.

Whilst in fact there is nothing whatsoever wrong with your room, you are right in that most of the party stayed in the main building all of seventy five yards from your room. At the very special rates we had agreed with the organiser for the Group's stay, without any supplements for Prestige Rooms, etc, it was 'first come, first served' so I can't help it if you didn't make your booking at the earliest opportunity so we could allocate these last two rooms to you.

You have listed some comments but I shan't address them specifically as they hardly warrant it I regret. Of course, shutting the shower door behind you helps contain the water and spider webs on the outside of the windows.... well.

And finally, I am pleased to be able to say that whether or not the Car Group is coming back again, I must request that you stay in your own clean and decorated home. We, a characterful and historic Three Star Hotel and Restaurant (not a five star one with matching prices), are not the sort of place to cater for you, the type of guest with such particular demands limited only by pocket usually and really what a shame you discredit the group by these comments as opposed to following protocol and advising the organiser to deal with things - if they really needed to be raised at all to spoil what otherwise was a lovely time had by all. You would know this as your husband was the secretary after all! I had even been thinking of becoming a token member of the Club but not now, thank you.

I am in the fortunate position to be able to choose who we want as guests to come and share with us here and those who feel they must start their catalogue of negative criticisms almost as soon as they arrive and then vent spleen on their computer where they feel insulated at home to say whatever nasty little comments they think are not those we need to come, thank you. Contrary to popular opinion too, we do have the right to choose and we are very welcoming to the vast majority of people. I regret too that you certainly don't qualify to give comments on my busy lifestyle and successful businesses and how I decide to do my jobs or ask others to do theirs either - keep those either for yourself or for your poor husband, or children if you have any!

Yours sincerely

Philip J Milton - Owner
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this hotel and then read some really bad reviews. I really cannot understand how this can be the case. The hotel is quirky and no it's not the Hilton or the Sheraton. If that is what you want this hotel is not for you.What it is is a gorgeous ,English, homely,country hotel. The gardens and views are stunning. The staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We go away for a lot of weekends and this is definitely now one of our favourite places.The breakfast was delicious. There is a lovely heated pool and the location is amazing. There are lots of local activities on the doorstep, riding ,shooting etc and the beach is a few miles away. It was clean, inviting and charming. They welcome all guests and children,(dogs also).The furniture may be a little old fashioned but that is all part of its charm. Miss this place at your peril! Thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the most stunning views but you will need to be able to get up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybellecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear Babybellecat

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our establishment - and thank you for the very kind comments too.

I am so pleased that you were well looked-after for your stay and shall very much look forward to seeing you return.

Yes, unfortunately 'TripAdvisor' can bring out both the best and the worst and there is no accountability with reviews either, even if they are fake guests, false comments or personal insults barred theoretically but they can all 'stay' on the site despite protests for their removal (or adaptation to be accurate).

You are right however, we are a robust, Three Star Country House Hotel and with prices to match (our Restaurant is too inexpensive from what I see and for the quality of fare of other places nearby!). We want people to enjoy being here in characterful surroundings and to feel the tranquility as well.

Thank you again and looking forward to a repeat visit!

All good wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am sorry, but i'm afraid this place needs a heck of a lot of investment,more staff and a good clean.
We arrived and saw that the pictures do not really represent these lodgings.
Food served is OK for a low end pub, so compliments the interior.
Lovely surrounding countryside, just a shame this 'hotel' is being left to slowly rot. Premises like these need a wise, caring custodian to look after them and to thrive, unfortunately some are just woefully lacking.
I shall hopefully stop by in a years time to check on 'any' progress, and a warm reception awaiting us?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank yhu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Oddly enough, we have not had any families stay in our Hotel for quite a long time, so so much for the truthfulness of your 'review', discrediting all that TripAdvisor stands-for. Happily we welcome children but as it's not been the school holidays that's just the way it has been. This so-called 'review' smells very fishy indeed - first time reviewers yet a 'review' written with an apparent experienced hand, etc - someone just trying to discredit us for some ulterior motive.

Regardless of that, we don't want the likes of this type of person coming to dine with us or stay with us so STAY AWAY please. You dare stop by again (not that we believe you did this time either - nothing in our records). You are not welcome.

Our historic characterful property is also our home which we love and we don't care for such crass, unappreciative opinions whatever motive you have used to try to discredit us.

We have been assessed independently by VisitBritain as a Three Star Hotel (and cottages) for many years now and this independent opinion is what counts, not your defamatory comments designed to damage our business & reputation. You are probably a challenged competitor & we should feel sorry for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Although we didn't stay in the hotel we had one of their extremely well furnished and spacious apartments. Without exception, everyone we met was lovely and treated us all as friends. As the hotel is next to the accommodation we were able to use all of the hotels facilities. This included a beautifully warm swimming pool, tennis courts, an excellent games room complete with free pool, loan of DVD's, CD's, books and games. Free WiFi all around the property. This place has ticked every box for us including being able to bring our dogs. - we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lyndawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear Lyndawood

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our establishment - and thank you for your very kind comments too.

I am so pleased that you were well looked-after for your stay and that you enjoyed your time in North Devon. We shall very much look forward to seeing you return.

As ever, I shall make sure the staff are informed of your kind comments - we do try hard and most Devonians are generally very friendly people!

Thank you again and looking forward to a repeat visit!

All good wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiltern Hills UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a well lived in family run home/hotel, glitzy and flash it is not - but all the better for it - home cooking and friendly atmosphere made for a comfortable and enjoyable break. A tranquil and rural idyll in tucked away in a fold of Exmoor but within easy reach of Woolacombe, Croyde and Ilfracombe. Last minute booking for a couple of nights - a very warm welcome and staff ultra helpful and sympathetic to our personal catastrophe whilst there. Owners very much 'hands on' and it shows - could not have been more caring and involved. Thanks for a great experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyfromTurnipEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear FussyfromTurnipEnd

With your TA name, one might be quaking in the boots to wonder what you were going to say so thank you very much for your very kind review! I am very pleased that we met all your expectations for us and indeed exceeded them!

You are right, we are a robust Three Star Hotel and Cottages with good, home prepared food from local sources wherever we can and prices to match.

We hope too that everything at home has resolved itself and shall very much look forward to having you stay with us another time. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff too - I shall make sure they are relayed to them.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Looking forward to your return visit!

All good wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Okay so you have to arrive by 7:15am to join this Breakfast meeting which can last until 9am+ if you chose to stay that long. Interesting subjects with an interesting mix of people. Good breakfast too

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Wiselady

Thank you very much for writing a review! Yes, 'BusinessBreakfastTyme' is for Business early birds. However, it is habit forming and I really look forward to each week!

We have great discourse and at only £8.50 for the meeting including a hearty breakfast, it is a great way for those in business and with a wealth of experience to share.

Please do help us spread the word as we are always pleased to see new faces as well as the regulars!

Look forward to catching-up with you soon.

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Trimstone, Ilfracombe EX34 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trimstone Manor a traditional country house offering accommodation. the only one in the greater Ilfracombe area (and only three miles from glorious Woolacombe), is set in 44 acres of landscaped gardens and beautiful North Devon countryside and provides the perfect location for those who want a peaceful and relaxing break. With easy access to the A361 Trimstone is also perfect for those who want to explore North Devon. The fine sandy beaches and rolling surf of Croyde, Woolacombe and Saunton are just a short drive as are the secluded coves and cliff paths around Ilfracombe and Combe Martin. Other attractions include the famous twin villages of Lynton and Lynmouth, Exmoor, the North Devon coastal footpath, Arlington Court for the National Trust's Carriage Collection or the delights of a working sheep dog and falconry demonstration a mile away. Whatever the weather there is always something to do at Trimstone. Nearby we have clay shooting grounds, golf, quad-biking, horse-riding, you-name-it! Guests can use the games room, tennis court, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna, walk in the grounds or simply relax in a quiet spot with a drink and a good book. Concessionary evening rates for Three Star Tyme Restaurant apply for pre-arrival bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trimstone Manor Country Hotel
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing