We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation, friendly service.”
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Collingdale
Ranked #2 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable accommodation, friendly service.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked out most of the Collingdale for three days for a Wedding party. All the guest enjoyed their stay, rooms were all comfortable, breakfast very good and hospitality excellent. Short, scenic walk from the centre of Ilfracombe. Great views from the seaward facing rooms. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    64
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
208
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at the Collingdale with my family for 3 nights last week and must say that the three of us had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean (cleaned daily) and very nicely decorated (with views on the water)- a perfect getaway from busy worklife for us. Great location to walk into the city or to take on walks along the South West Coastal path. Sharon was very helpful in recommending places and restaurants in the city, and even making reservations for us. The breakfast was impressive, with something for everybody. All in all, very recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33Hei22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Sharon could not have been any more helpful and gave us tips on where to visit and where to eat. Excellent. It was our anniversary so the chockies in our room was truly a lovely touch. The breakfasts come highly recommended and there is plenty of choice. With spectacular views and a perfect location to explore the local area - we would not hesitate to come back again. Thank you both for being so helpful and hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for a 3 nights last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Perfect base for exploring Ilfracombe, being only a 5 minute walk from the quay. Sharon welcomed us on arrival and gave us some tips on local bars and restaurants, which came in very handy. A bonus was a complimentary bottle of wine for booking our stay through Tripadvisor! We had a double room overlooking the "wooded area" as all of the sea-view rooms were booked, and it was spacious, clean, comfortable and prettily decorated. The whole guest house was incredibly clean and well maintained and the views from the breakfast room are beautiful. I recommend the "full Devon" breakfast and can see why Sharon and Daryl have won awards for it! Would highly recommend staying here, and also book through Tripadvisor for your freebie vino!

Room Tip: I would try to book a sea-view room if possible but the others (based on our experience) are also ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeighleyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I am a regular visitor to Illfracombe and have stayed at the Collingdale twice and have put up with the pokey rooms and difficulties with parking because it has good sea views and is not far from the centre. I had intended to stay there in August 2013 and again in September but due to problems beyond my control I had to cancel the August visit a few days before travelling. On calling I was appalled by the surly attitude of the owner who not only told me I had lost my deposit for August but that I would also loose my deposit for the September trip which was over a month away!

This shoddy treatment of a regular customer is a disgrace and has ensured that I will never stay with these terrible people again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank TheKipperSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingdale, Owner at The Collingdale, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Trip Advisor is an open forum for views ranging across the full spectrum of experiences, and as such we rarely feel the need to comment on a review, but in this case we feel that we should put our side of the story.

The guest had indeed stayed twice before and as far as we were aware always had a pleasant experience. She was due to stay again on Friday 16th August for two nights and again in late September for two nights. The guest contacted us by telephone, giving less than 24 hours notice to cancel her August booking, the reason given was that their dive boat had cancelled on them.

We then explained that having given such short notice, as per our booking policy (which is broadly similar to other guest houses), she would lose the first night's stay, as this is a non- refundable deposit taken at the time of booking and that we may have to charge for the full stay if a subsequent booking could not be made.
The guest then said to cancel her September booking, as she could not guarantee not cancelling at the last minute again. We informed her at this point, that whilst we would normally charge the first night's deposit for the September stay, that we would waiver it on this occasion. So, contrary to the guests claims, she was only charged the non-refundable deposit for the first night of the August stay (we subsequently relet her room for the second night so this was not charged) and she was not charged anything at all for the cancelled September stay. In summary, although the guest cancelled 4 nights accommodation, two of which with less than 24 hours notice, she was only charged for one night.

We think that the 'surly attitude' claim comes from the fact that we suggested that due to her likelihood of cancelling her stay at the last minute she may be better booking into a larger hotel as these normally have less stringent cancellation policies (this was meant as friendly advice).

This is only the second "terrible" review in our 11 years at The Collingdale and both have been due to guests not being able to accept the fact of losing money on late cancellation. Guests are made fully aware of our booking policy at the time of reservation and it is also available on our website and includes advice on taking travel insurance to avoid circumstances such as this. It is never easy to charge guests for not staying, but as a very small business we have to have a fair but robust cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked a two night break at short notice, our choice being based on other reviews - we were not disappointed, Sharon greeted us on arrival and from the start was very helpful and friendly, as far as we could see Daryl is less "front of house" but still very friendly. Our room was large, airy and comfortable, everything was very clean and tidy. A very pleasant guest sitting room with good views over the harbour was a bonus. The breakfast was, as most others have commented, lovely - set us up nicely for the day. Our only regret is that we vould not stay longer!

Room Tip: Because we booked late we could not get a room with a harbour view - we believe they have a similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Views from our room were stunning and great for seeing all the different boats in and out of the harbour. Our room was clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble for Sharon & Daryl and breakfast was always great. Will be going again soon .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Property: The Collingdale
Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing