We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Spent two nights here and wish it could have been more!! Adam and Paula who were running the B&B were really great and made the trip, great advice on where to go for dinner. Would highly highly recommend you to stay here

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWinters1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Fantastic hospitality and stylish accommodation - Norbury House is in a great location, only minutes walk from the harbour at Ilfracombe and a great base for exploring the surrounding coastlines. Adam and Paula made us feel extremely welcome and took great care in assuring our stay was enjoyable, providing great local knowledge and recommendations and even making our dinner reservations!!! You can even pick up a coastal walk from the back garden which affords some breathtaking scenery; we followed it right round to Woolacombe (and got the bus back!).
Norbury House is highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixipixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just returned from spending a fantastic and long weekend with husband and daughter to surf at Woolacoombe. Paula and Adam are a young couple and the hotel reflects their boutique style . Very relaxed atmosphere but service spot on and you are not fussed over but they are on hand to help if needed. After a long journey from North Yorkshire arrived to be greeted by Paula who then went in to bring out a fresh pot of coffee and biscuits.Great lounge area with honesty bar.They recommended Relish restaurant in Ilfaracombe and that was the best meal we have ever eaten !Daughter loved walking Bovril the dog.Damien Hurst resturant/cafe there is great. Ilfracombe is an up and coming Salcombe !New Verity statue planned for harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirskguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A big thank you to Paula and Adam for making our stay a memorable one. We are an outdoor couple and this accommodation was perfectly situated for easy access to the local amenities. Almost at the back of Norbury House, you can walk a short distance to what is an amazing and breathtaking 360 degree view of the local area. Wow! Immediately you can see the local island and you know that you want to take the boat trip, unfortunately we didn't have time for the trip, there was so much to get through! We took our bikes and what an adventure that turned out to be. If you are cyclists then definitely don't leave home without them, we had a six hour memorable trip. Paula and Adam started us off in the right direction for the local Tarka Trail, thankyou. We began our days at Norbury House with a hearty breakfast which was presented to a very good standard. Paula cooks and Adam runs the breakfast room. Works very well. They both share their knowledge of the area. Paula or Adam can recommend good eateries and what events e.g. pub quizzes take place, where and on what night! Also they are happy to make the booking for you. Their home is perfectly situated and the rooms exceed what is displayed on the Internet. Much larger than expected and everything was immaculate. Thank you for a fun trip and we will happily return again.

Room Tip: Looking on the Internet, all of the rooms look good and I am positive they all are. Adam is quite ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at Norbury House for a couple of nights and it was a lovely experience. We stayed in Room 7, which is at the top of the house. It was as described, very clean, light and airy with a view across Ilfracombe. The room had a en suite shower/toilet/washbasin, which was also clean and tidy and just the right size for the room.

The breakfast provided is really good value for money. There was a choice of cereals, and you could also choose from lots of cooked options. I went for a cooked breakfast on the first day and a toasted sausage muffin on the second day, and they were both fantastic, and you can tell that the produce used is of a high quality.

The best thing about Norbury House is the warm welcome you will receive. Adam and Paula are both extremely friendly and welcoming. Paula very kindly suggested restaurants in Ilfracombe, and sorted out a booking for us on our second night. She also made us a pot of tea on arrival, and introduced us to Bovril the dog (who is just as friendly as his owners!).

I would definitely recommend Norbury House if you're thinking of a trip to Ilfracombe, and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will321983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Thanks to Paula, Adam and Bovril for a magical relaxing break at this top class B&B. This is our third trip and Norbury House really does get better every time. Every day started with a fantastic breakfast and ended with a lovely glass of something special from the courtesy bar. The kids didn't want to leave - thanks Paula, Adam and Bovril for being so good with them and making their holiday really special!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank HisLordship23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked this very last minute and were bowled over by the welcome we received, the quality of the room and the scrumptious breakfast. Adam, Paula and Bovril the dog are absolutely wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble; be it giving advice on 'secret' beaches, booking restaurants for supper or adapting the breakfast menu. We loved it here and felt like we were saying goodbye to friends by the end of our visit. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing