We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beechwood Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Westaway(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Westwell Hall(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Devon Bay Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
248
37
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
37
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barcoastal pathb bgreat hostsbiscuitson arrivalwarm welcomelocal producewalk into townworth the effortlocal areaplaces to visithome from hometop floorlittle touchesfamily roomvisiting ilfracombe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We went to Norbury House for three nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Each day we walked for between 2 and 4 hours, exploring neighboring towns and the beautiful moors. One day we took Bovril, the guest house owners' dog, with us (He is a friendly black labrador). We had breakfast in the hotel which consisted of very fresh fruit, delicious yogurt and a variety of cooked breakfasts. The town is small and interesting, one or two days in Ilfracombe is probably enough. We went to a gourmet pizza place called Relish and an Italian (which I don't remember the name of). Both were excellent. There are numerous nearby neighboring towns which all deserve a visit.
The area is beautiful, peaceful and interesting and a most welcome change from our usual UK visit to London.

Room Tip: The website gives a very clear and honest account of each room. The hotel is a beautiful grand old house set on a hill.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After a hard days walking on the south-west coast path we were greeted by Adam with a wonderful refreshing cup of tea. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice and Adam was the perfect host - we all thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here or my birthday weekend and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Adam and Paula are terrific hosts who provided a scrumptious breakfast, recommended great restaurants to eat for our evening meal, organised taxis and suggested things to o and places to go.
An added bonus was borrowing Bovril the majestic labrador for a coastal walk.
All in all highly recommended and would visit again.
Thank you very very much Adam and Paula!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Paula and Adam run a wonderful bed and breakfast, everything was spot on.
The lovely lounge and honesty bar were a real treat and a great place to relax and unwind. Breakfast on both days of our stay was of the highest quality and the room was spacious and we loved the decor.
Both Paula and Adam were helpful and recommended several excellent restaurants in town. Don't be put off by previous comments, Ilfracombe has some quality and interesting places to eat, and a lot of effort is being put in to lifting the town's fortunes for the better.
Nor bury House is a great place to stay and real value for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here to attend a wedding and as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the owners who were very friendly, informative and could not do more for us!
The honesty bar was a nice touch and the decor downstairs was very easy on the eye!
Breakfast was perfect both days and we were made to feel very welcome.
In regards to our room (3) the bed was comfortable and when asked we were given hypo allergenic pillows, the view was stunning over Ilfracombe.
The only feedback I could give is that the bathroom could have been updated. There was a small electric shower which was hot and cold and nothing in between and the shelf under the mirror slopes so it is impossible to put anything on it without things falling off! The wall paper was peeling off in places as well.
For £105 a night we felt that a bathroom that was equal to or better than our one at home should be expected!
Having said that I would recommend staying here and we enjoyed ourselves. We would return again if we ever return to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews