We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sausages......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing sausages......”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

....and the most genuine nice couple we have had the pleasure to stay with.
We stayed at Norbury House Hotel for a family wedding and I can honestly say that Adam and Paula made our stay a pleasure. The rooms are all clean and spacious, with each having its own unique design. The breakfast was delicious and there was always plenty for the hungry men in our party. We loved the honesty bar and spent a few evenings in it! The design of the whole place was very individualised and focused on offering a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting. You can't help but relax when you are there.
Basically this place is a dream come true and nothing is too much trouble. You are made to feel welcome and at home from the moment you arrive. Thank you both so much. Adam, Zoe & Tai x x x

Room Tip: Room 2, perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
61
163
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We'd booked Norbury House for the weekend of our wedding for family and friends after reading very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were definitely not disappointed. Norbury House isn't the cheapest hotel in Ilfracombe but you do get what you pay for!

Adam and Paula are two of the most welcoming and friendly hosts you are likely to encounter and they certainly made the effort to accommodate our needs where possible. They are very knowledgable and will recommend the best places to eat and drink based on their personal experience. They're great for even just a general natter!

The hotel is situated at the top of Torrs Park, which made it a great location for our wedding party as it is near the Tunnels Beaches. The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning as it looks out across the town, dramatic coastline and sea.

The rooms are well decorated, maintained and very clean. We loved the little touches, such as the cosy reading 'cove' and the painted on mouse and mouse hole (see if you can spot it!). Our favourite has to the lounge though which had a very chilled atmosphere and was a great place to sit, chat and help yourselves to the honesty bar.

The cooked breakfast was very nice, however there was plenty on offer if you prefer something else instead.

If you are a dog lover, Adam and Paula have a lovable dog in the shape of Bovril, their big black labrador. I'm not generally a fan of dogs but he is very friendly (except towards sheep!) and we took him for a walk along the coastal path behind the hotel which has some stunning views which is a must-do.

Overall a fantastic stay that we couldn't fault and we couldn't have picked a better place to be part of our special day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed in Room 8 at Norbury House, it was lovely, clean, spacious and the bed was really comfy. Tea and coffee provided in the room with a choice of biscuits. We had a really nice view overlooking Illfracombe.
Adam and Paula made us feel very welcome and provided information of places to eat and drink.
Breakfast had a good choice and made fresh to order.
Love the idea of the Honesty Bar where you serve yourself and write what you had in a book.
Will be returning again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Norbury House, having completed a 40 mile or so stretch of the SW Coast Path. It is located in a quiet, residential area of Ilfracombe, and although that means a steep walk up from the town, we felt the location was worth the effort to get away from the bustle of the tourist areas. The SW Coast Path runs behind the House, so it is well situated for walkers. Adam made us feel very welcome on arrival, with tea/biscuits on the terrace and a friendly chat about the area, places to dine etc. which extended to Adam booking us a table for dinner at one of his recommended restaurants (it proved to be a good choice too). Well presented accommodation, with an eclectic style and a welcoming ambience. Intend to return next year when we kick off the next stage of our walk along the Path.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was surprised to read so many enthusiastic reviews of Norbury House Hotel as I was distinctly disappointed by my experience staying there. There is no doubt that the standard of personal service offered is excellent and that you do receive a warm welcome from Adam (we didn't meet Paula during our trip), however I was extremely disappointed by the standard of our bedroom (Room 2, family suite). The room had a strong pervasive odour of damp that really affected how pleasant it was to spend time in it. The carpet was drab and stained and furnishings (bar the comfy mattress and nice bed linen) were really shabby and tired looking. For me walking into the room was like walking into a stereotype of a tired seaside B&B and not what I was expecting based on the website and pictures. The bathroom was small and cramped, though clean. Overall I did not feel that the experience was good value for money and wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was my second time staying at Norbury House with my children and once again we had a wonderful experience. Paula and Adam the owners remembered us from our previous visit which was a lovely suprise. The breakfast was great with some lovely options available. Definately have the poached eggs-they're amazing!Paula and Adam are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We even got to talk Bovril for a walk along the coastal path. Highly recommend this lovely home from home for a weekend away.
Thanks so much, we'll be back again!!!

Jo in Cambridge

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971jodawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

There are hundreds of hotels to choose from in Ilfracombe, so after a check on previous reviews we selected the Norbury House hotel in Torrs Park and booked a couple of nights there. Our sat-nav found the hotel without any problem and we arrived late afternoon after a long drive from Surrey. The welcome could not have been warmer and after unloading the luggage, a coffee and shortbread were awaiting us in the hotel lounge. Our host, Adam, gave us some very useful information on Ilfracombe (as this was our first visit) and we soon settled into our accommodation on the top floor, which was very clean and tidy. The hotel is not big or super-luxurious, but made a very pleasant stopover for a couple of days on our way to Cornwall – reasonable breakfasts and not too far to walk into the centre of Ilfracombe (but please be aware the return walk is up a long steep hill). For the price, I would rate this as a truly great little hotel and overall it was certainly good value with no issues to write about. Too many reviews seem to pick very minor issues and mention them as negatives and the overall holiday experience is somehow overlooked – for the Norbury House hotel I would totally recommend a visit, the warm welcome and pleasurable stay will be the outcome with no complaints whatsoever, a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g6yog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing