We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fab hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here a night as part of a costal tour of Devon and Cornwall. Adam and Paula were lovely hosts and we mustn't forget Bovril, he's lovely too.

We stayed in room 5 (which is very big) and has great views over the town and even has a smaller single bed room attached if you have kids. The breakfast was stunning and perfectly cooked and well presented.

To sum up - The food and hospitality were second to none, thankyou Adam and Paula for a great night in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patey154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at Norbury House 18th - 22nd August as part of our honeymoon and we honestly can't recommend this lovely B&B enough!

Paula and Adam are fantastic, we tried several of the restaurants and activities they recommended, all of which were great. They were very welcoming and gave us tea and biscuits on arrival, along with maps of the local area and leaflets on places to visit etc. They're very knowledgable about the local area and were very helpful in booking tables at restaurants for us. They really make you feel at home.

Breakfast was always fantastic, plenty to choose from (I'm veggie and was spoilt for choice every day).

The location is great - a 5/10minute walk to the harbour or town, but far enough away from any noise. Only a short drive to Croyde and other beaches.

We stayed in room number 8 which had a lovely view across Ilfracombe and the sea. Facilities were very good (hair dryer, iron and board, en suite, TV, iPod docking station), and the room was absolutely spotless. The bed was incredibly comfortable too!

We will most definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Myself and my friend travelled with her 12 year old daughter for a break for a few days. The only room left was room 2 and after reading the review on here about that particular room, we nearly didn't book it. However, after discussion with Paula we booked it and thank goodness we did because we had a really lovely time. Paula and Adam were fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome. They went out of their way to be helpful in terms of suggesting places to go and making restaurant reservations for us.

Let me just say that the previous comment about room 2 is not correct in any way. It did not smell and whilst it wasn't the most luxurious room I'm sure in the b&b, it was clean and perfectly functional and did not look like a tired seaside b&b! Breakast was amazing!

The hotel was in a beautiful location and we didn't find the walk back up from the town particularly steep! Thank you for a really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Norbury House for two nights (16-17 August 2013) and would absolutely recommend it to family and friends. Adam and Paula were extremely friendly and wonderful hosts. They were both so personable and couldn’t do enough for us. The breakfast was amazing (thanks Paula) and there was a good variety to choose from. The decor was stylish and the rooms very clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located and has great views of the sea. Perfect, we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 - which had great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhianon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

....and the most genuine nice couple we have had the pleasure to stay with.
We stayed at Norbury House Hotel for a family wedding and I can honestly say that Adam and Paula made our stay a pleasure. The rooms are all clean and spacious, with each having its own unique design. The breakfast was delicious and there was always plenty for the hungry men in our party. We loved the honesty bar and spent a few evenings in it! The design of the whole place was very individualised and focused on offering a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting. You can't help but relax when you are there.
Basically this place is a dream come true and nothing is too much trouble. You are made to feel welcome and at home from the moment you arrive. Thank you both so much. Adam, Zoe & Tai x x x

Room Tip: Room 2, perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We'd booked Norbury House for the weekend of our wedding for family and friends after reading very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were definitely not disappointed. Norbury House isn't the cheapest hotel in Ilfracombe but you do get what you pay for!

Adam and Paula are two of the most welcoming and friendly hosts you are likely to encounter and they certainly made the effort to accommodate our needs where possible. They are very knowledgable and will recommend the best places to eat and drink based on their personal experience. They're great for even just a general natter!

The hotel is situated at the top of Torrs Park, which made it a great location for our wedding party as it is near the Tunnels Beaches. The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning as it looks out across the town, dramatic coastline and sea.

The rooms are well decorated, maintained and very clean. We loved the little touches, such as the cosy reading 'cove' and the painted on mouse and mouse hole (see if you can spot it!). Our favourite has to the lounge though which had a very chilled atmosphere and was a great place to sit, chat and help yourselves to the honesty bar.

The cooked breakfast was very nice, however there was plenty on offer if you prefer something else instead.

If you are a dog lover, Adam and Paula have a lovable dog in the shape of Bovril, their big black labrador. I'm not generally a fan of dogs but he is very friendly (except towards sheep!) and we took him for a walk along the coastal path behind the hotel which has some stunning views which is a must-do.

Overall a fantastic stay that we couldn't fault and we couldn't have picked a better place to be part of our special day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed in Room 8 at Norbury House, it was lovely, clean, spacious and the bed was really comfy. Tea and coffee provided in the room with a choice of biscuits. We had a really nice view overlooking Illfracombe.
Adam and Paula made us feel very welcome and provided information of places to eat and drink.
Breakfast had a good choice and made fresh to order.
Love the idea of the Honesty Bar where you serve yourself and write what you had in a book.
Will be returning again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £97 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing