We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and Relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish and Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived at Norbury House after a long day in the car. Lovely welcome from Paula, Bovril and Adam set the scene for our 2 night stay. The whole experience exceeded our expectations - the room, the views and the proximity to the town, harbour and restaurants.
Breakfasts were excellent on both mornings. Comfy bed meant that we slept well -- I really don't know how it could be improved! We will certainly return, it was just like staying with trusted friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660miket660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent easter weekend at norbury house and I very much enjoyed the stay the hosts Adam and Paula were very welcoming and helpful with any queries. The hotel is in a good place not to far from the town centre. The rooms are great and clean with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynnface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I have just spent a wonderful 3 days at Norbury House. Adam, Paula and Bovril have been superb hosts and everything was just perfect. From the welcome through to the beautiful room (5), lovely breakfasts and advice on where to go and what to do,we could not have asked for more. Go there and be welcomed and wonderfully spoiled!!

Room Tip: We had a tour and they're all lovely but we stayed in 5 and its fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeerae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here on a 3 night break between Christmas and New Year. We found it very comfortable and our room (7) spacious although probably due for a little updating. The house is impressive and well located for the town (15min walk) and the coastal path (walk up through their back garden). By far the best feature is the couple who run it, Paula and Adam. Welcoming and friendly without being intrusive they gave us plenty of tips on things to do and places to eat all of which turned out to be spot on. It's good. Try it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic stay this weekend, friendly welcome from Paula + Bob on our arrival + instantly made to feel at home. Lovely room retro room with sea views, extremely comfy + large bed. Lots of recommendations as to where to eat + drink also Paula booked us a taxi for that evening! Ate at Relish that eve which we would recommend + drinks in a bar called Eclectic, great cocktails + atmostphere. Lovely breakfast next morning, good choice of options + once again a friendly greeting from Adam. Will definitely stay again + will recommend to all our friends! Enjoy your visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at Norbury House in late November 2013, visiting family members resident in the town. Adam and Paula were extremely welcoming hosts, and I was made to feel at home and comfortable. Room, bedding and bathroom were all ultra clean and breakfast plentiful, tasty and made with local produce. The hotel itself has a stylish and contemporary feel which distinguishes it from the more traditional style of hotel in the area. It is an easy 5 minutes walk from the high street and 10 minutes from the seafront. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a base to explore North Devon or just spend a quiet couple of days away from it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay . Excellent facilities in the family room including 2 showers, which was great for the kids in the morning. I would highly recommend staying here if you want that welcoming homely feel. Great location and views, would definitely stay here again. Thankyou for everything xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebradys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing