We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Norbury House 12 months ago, when concluding a walking holiday from Minehead to Ilfracombe, and had no hesitation in returning this year for the next leg of the S W Coast path to Westward Ho!.
Adam was happy for us to leave our car in the car park for picking up at the end of our walk a few days later, but aside from its close proximity to the Path, there are plenty of other reasons for staying here. It is secluded away from the tourist centre of Ilfracombe, in a quiet, residential setting, yet still convenient for visiting restaurants etc, Contemporary in style, you are assured a warm welcome, and if looking for a good standard of B and B in Ilfracombe, make sure Norbury House is on your list.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived at Norbury House after a long day in the car. Lovely welcome from Paula, Bovril and Adam set the scene for our 2 night stay. The whole experience exceeded our expectations - the room, the views and the proximity to the town, harbour and restaurants.
Breakfasts were excellent on both mornings. Comfy bed meant that we slept well -- I really don't know how it could be improved! We will certainly return, it was just like staying with trusted friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 660miket660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent easter weekend at norbury house and I very much enjoyed the stay the hosts Adam and Paula were very welcoming and helpful with any queries. The hotel is in a good place not to far from the town centre. The rooms are great and clean with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynnface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I have just spent a wonderful 3 days at Norbury House. Adam, Paula and Bovril have been superb hosts and everything was just perfect. From the welcome through to the beautiful room (5), lovely breakfasts and advice on where to go and what to do,we could not have asked for more. Go there and be welcomed and wonderfully spoiled!!

Room Tip: We had a tour and they're all lovely but we stayed in 5 and its fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeerae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here on a 3 night break between Christmas and New Year. We found it very comfortable and our room (7) spacious although probably due for a little updating. The house is impressive and well located for the town (15min walk) and the coastal path (walk up through their back garden). By far the best feature is the couple who run it, Paula and Adam. Welcoming and friendly without being intrusive they gave us plenty of tips on things to do and places to eat all of which turned out to be spot on. It's good. Try it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hubchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic stay this weekend, friendly welcome from Paula + Bob on our arrival + instantly made to feel at home. Lovely room retro room with sea views, extremely comfy + large bed. Lots of recommendations as to where to eat + drink also Paula booked us a taxi for that evening! Ate at Relish that eve which we would recommend + drinks in a bar called Eclectic, great cocktails + atmostphere. Lovely breakfast next morning, good choice of options + once again a friendly greeting from Adam. Will definitely stay again + will recommend to all our friends! Enjoy your visit!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at Norbury House in late November 2013, visiting family members resident in the town. Adam and Paula were extremely welcoming hosts, and I was made to feel at home and comfortable. Room, bedding and bathroom were all ultra clean and breakfast plentiful, tasty and made with local produce. The hotel itself has a stylish and contemporary feel which distinguishes it from the more traditional style of hotel in the area. It is an easy 5 minutes walk from the high street and 10 minutes from the seafront. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a base to explore North Devon or just spend a quiet couple of days away from it all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £97 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing