We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbury House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I have been back to this hotel 3 times already and will continue to return. First time was with my partner for a romantic birthday break and and the 2 times as a family holiday. Adam and Paula are very welcoming and you cannot fault their hospitality. Always on hand to help with recommendations on attractions and restaurants, to all the secrets Devon has to offer. They run a fantastic little guesthouse, with all the comfort you need. Its charming and the views are stunning. Bovril the horse hound is a lovely friendly black lab, who made my partners daughters trip. You can walk him to your hearts content if you need to borrow a dog, as walking around Devon without a dog seems incomplete. If your looking for a friendly, warm, cosy place to stay then this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

What a lovely homestay. Paula and Allen were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to assist us in our search for old family history. The breakfasts were exceptional, fresh, well cooked and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble when advice was sought. The room (at the top of the stairs) was spacious and airy - lots of windows, important when staying in the attic rooms. Very comfortable and tastefully decorated. A comfortable down hill walk into town and a not too difficult walk on the way back.. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleworth, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here at the end of last month with our 13 year old son. We stayed in number 5 which was spacious and beautiful. The small bedroom adjacent to our room was perfect for our son which had amazing views from his room. We loved staying here for so many reasons, the stunning views, the rooms, location (close enough to enjoy all the sites but far enough away that you can enjoy a quiet evening), the little touches like an honesty bar and nets and fishing rods, recommending trips and booking them for us, with all that said there are two top reasons why this is the place to stay - Adam and Paula. It's been said before by other reviewers but it is the truth, we really felt like we were staying with family. We loved every minute of this B&B and would be honored to be guests again in their home. Just one more BIG tip for you reading - don't skip breakfast!!! The fresh fruit and coffee is superb and the main whether you choose the full English or Eggs Benedict (there may have been more choices) you won't go wrong. It's all made to order by Paula and is the best B&B breakfast we have ever had! Thanks again Adam and Paula - we'll be in touch after we get to Guam!
Jess, Jason & Zach

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d00dle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landshut, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

From the first moment when we stepped in for our 3 nights stay it felt like coming home. We were heartly welcomed with a cup of tea at the stylish and cosy lounge that is also equiped with a bar where you can enjoy some self-mixed drinks.
We booked room no. 5 that is really spacious, and has nice views towards the sea and the landscape around Ilfracombe. We slept very well, it´s very calm inside the house as well as outside. Room was clean and nicely decorated. There are also some DVD´s to watch on the flatscreen TV.
The breakfast in the morning is very delicious, you can choose from the buffet and order fresh cooked breakfast. Thanks Paula, now I am convinced that a typical english breakfast is worth eating it. To see the town you can walk there within 15 min., Tunnel Beaches are even closer. And really everbody should go for a walk along the coast, the coastal path starts directly behind the house. Bouvril, the dog, really knows the way and brings you back home safely.
The recommendations for dinner from Adam were fantastic, and if you´d like Adam and Paula make a reservation for you.
Finally I can say, if I come back to North Devon this place would again be my favourite place to stay.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tenbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

we stayed the weekend and received such a personal welcome we felt like friends. Paula and Adam had the insiders knowledge about Ilfracombe and its surroundings that meant we didn't need a guide book.
The room we had at the top of the house was really comfy and spacious and the decor matched the smart retro feel of the rest of the house. I loved the lounge with its quirky corner bar but loved the honesty bar approach to the drinks. It made us feel like we were house guests not paying customers. They even booked us a table at the Damien Hirst restaurant.
Breakfast was simply delicious with a fantastic selection. It was presented beautifully, made to order and from local produce. Adam even had the latest weather forecast and tide details at the touch of a button between taking orders.
We loved it and will be returning to this B&B. Great people, great place and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

i cannot say enough how amazing this place was. i am surprised that it is not number 1 on this site. you will not be disappointed!

My partner and i stayed here for three nights to get away from London, and it could not have been more perfect.

When we first arrived in the drive-way, the two owners, Paula and Adam, greeted us warmly, as though we were old friends. they both went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Not only do they personally run this establishment, they also recommended what to do in the area, where to eat, and even informed us of local events; in this case an art exhibition in a small art gallery. they even made reservations on our behalf at the restaurants that we had chosen to eat at for dinner. all-in-all, the service could not have been better in any way.

as for the actual accommodation, everything was spotless, the rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. our rooms were cleaned everyday. the location was excellent as well. it was quiet in the evening, and in a perfect location to start the coastal walk from Ilfracombe during the day. also, the beds are large and comfortable. Value is also very good for the service and breakfast that is included

Staying here was one of the main reasons we enjoyed our holiday so much. Simply Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katodrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

stayed at Norbury this weekend, paula and adam were amazing very accomdating regaurding check in. Beautiful house, stunning rooms. breakfest was delicious and was given plenty of information about ilfracombe. Would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrine82s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing