We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more...”

Strathmore Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathmore Guest House
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from a couple of nights here. As mentioned by others, Heather and Pete were great hosts who couldn't do enough for their guests. Our bags were carried to our room straight away and all services explained. The B&B is very clean, and all guests were friendly to one another. We were informed by Heather and Pete that they had a dog, but we never heard a peep out of it! Plenty of choice for breakfast, although we had hairs in ours both days, which was off putting to say the least. The bed was sp noisy and u comfortable in our room - it had a definite dip, which made it difficult to sleep in. Not the most easily accessible B&B, roughly 10 steep steps to climb before you reach the front door, which was tough with our new baby.

Overall, very friendly owners who went out of their way to please their guests. Just a shame about the bed, the steep steps and the hairs in the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misshels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I decided last minute to book a few days in Ilfracombe and from the moment I telephone and spoke to Heather I felt like one of the family!! When we arrived Heather and her husband Pete were very welcoming, taking my suitcase up to our room. The house is lovely, full of Victorian charm and tastefully decorated, there is a small driveway for parking. It is immaculately clean I knew immediately we had made the right choice. We brought our dog Daisy with us and she soon became friends with the real boss of the B&B Poppy the dog!!

I had booked this trip late and we were told on booking it was the last room so I did not expect much but was pleasantly surprised. We had a twin bed room 8, at the top of the house, it was clean and pleasantly decorated, all facilities worked and I was very pleased!!

Breakfast??? well now!!!! Pete is a wonderful chef I enjoyed a full English vegetarian everyday, he even provided bacon for Daisy who now refuses her dog biscuits!!!

The location is excellent, walking distance to town and shops.

Thank you Heather Pete and Poppy for making our introduction to Devon the most enjoyable one and we shall definitely return next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Arrived at Strathmore having turned on our heels immediately after checking into another establishment nearby and was very happy to do so. It's exactly what you ought to expect from a family run coastal b&b - homely, clean, comfortable and welcoming. Nice people and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mob767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hosts with the mosts! Nothing was too much trouble we left feeling well cared for. Super breakfast, lots of choice, comfy bed, nice size room, close to town centre but the jewels here are peter and heather. We were made to feel welcome the minute we walked in, a very genuine couple who obviously enjoy what they do. I thought their customer service was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenlove45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

an excellent guest house in a great location, good off road parking, fabalous hosts Heather, Pete and Poppy, breakfast was excellent, plus they welcomed us like old friends and even provided breakfast and a few treats for our dog (fudge)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicelady96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for a few nights and had a smallish double room on the top floor. Our double room was not as comfortable as it might have been, the bed rather hard, bathroom small and the shower pressure too low. A comfy lounge/bar to relax in. A very clean hotel with very friendly service, a huge well-cooked breakfast, but overall the hotel was not our "cup of tea".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polski_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Myself and the wife stayed the weekend just gone for a quick last minute break. Nothing was too much trouble and as already said the breakfast is perfect with plenty of choice. The B&B was very clean and tidy and perfect for our short break. I would happily recommend and stay again. Location is good, you can easily walk into town if you wish.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6_Rider36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Guest House

Property: Strathmore Guest House
Address: 57 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathmore is a 4* AA Gold Awarded Licenced Victorian Guest House. With 8 individually designed bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. We are located just a 10 minute stroll to the town centre and not much further to the sea front. Strathmore is lovingly looked after and still retains some of the origional features. I cater for singles, couples and families alike, with small well behaved dogs also welcome (charges may apply). Should the weather allow, there is a selcuded terraced garden to the rear of the property, where guests can relax. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Strathmore at some point in the future. Heather ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathmore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing