We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathmore Guest House

Strathmore Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathmore Guest House
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Eckington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our host Heather was absolutely lovely. We were given a choice of rooms. The room was spotlessly clean with everything we needed including a very comfortable bed. Choice for breakfast was excellent for a small guesthouse and well cooked. Heather was very helpful, and given the circumstances (she has recently lost her husband) was very kind and keen to make our stay enjoyable, and it was. We would definitely return here and recommend others to experience the charm of the Strathmore.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
28
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have just come back from a wonderful stay at the Strathmore Hotel. We have stayed at the Strathmore Hotel on numerous occasions over the past several years and have always found the facilities and the experience to be of a high standard, with kind and helpful hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This guesthouse is gorgeous. The house is stunning and the breakfast was faultless. The hosts couldn't do enough for you. Lots of little touches in the room, and loads of helpful information. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the Strahmore,

We booked really late for a New Year's Eve break,

Heather & Pete, were absolute brilliant, they were so friendly and welcoming.

The breakfast was really lovely, cooked fresh and the choices were excellent.

The House we found really nice, loved the staircase really impressive.

The room was excellent the bed was enormous, that's the only thing I would say is that it was so big I had to phone the Air Sea Rescue to find my wife !!!

My wife was impressed with the matching crockery, I know it's a woman thing! But it's the nice touches that set a good place off.

Heather & Pete even taxied us to town as none was available from the local taxis, they just couldn't do enough for us, their little dog was a delight.

I would highly recommend this guest house and will defiantly be returning.

Over all, spotlessly clean, excellent food value for money, and the most gracious owners

Thankyou both

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, Owner at Strathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is always nice to hear that what we put our heart and soul into is appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year and are delighted, you have taken the time in which to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you and your wife, and wish you all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

arrived to a warm welcoming from mr and mrs small made to feel very welcome.
we entered our room to find a lovely letter and treats for our puppy from their dog poppy.
breakfast was of very good quality and puppy was given breakfast too.
room was clean and comfortable.
the area has a lovely park to walk your pets just up from the guest house.
we will be staying there again!!!

Room Tip: rooms to the left are away from the main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woosie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Too cluttered and a little tired. Poor location of of the television in our bed room.Larger quilt required. Shortage of car parking spaces if not back early.Very good choice of food for breakfast and cooked freshly for you. Well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having departed quickly from our planned accommodation we were lucky to find this place .
The hosts were very welcoming indeed.
The room was spacious , very clean with a view onto the back garden .
The location was perfect for us , and the added bonus of onsite parking was a bonus .
Great value for money , and a fantastic breakfast to start your day .
Will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_H_E_B_O_S_S079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Guest House

Property: Strathmore Guest House
Address: 57 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathmore is a 4* AA Gold Awarded Licenced Victorian Guest House. With 8 individually designed bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. We are located just a 10 minute stroll to the town centre and not much further to the sea front. Strathmore is lovingly looked after and still retains some of the origional features. I cater for singles, couples and families alike, with small well behaved dogs also welcome (charges may apply). Should the weather allow, there is a selcuded terraced garden to the rear of the property, where guests can relax. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Strathmore at some point in the future. Heather ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Strathmore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing