We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #19 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed 2 weekend nights recently. Beautiful house, great location just a short walk to town. Helen was wonderfully friendly and welcoming. Very comfortable room- excellent nights sleep. Tasty breakfast. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed two nights early August 2013 for a wedding at the Tunnels. The place was easy to find as our sat-nav took us right there. After negotiating the steep driveway, Helen greeted us on arrival and upgraded us to a lovely top floor room with great view over Ilfracombe. House and rooms were immaculate and our room had lots of cupboard space. The town itself was only a short walk straight downhill and found some lovely places to eat.
We had very comfortable sleep and we really enjoyed the cooked breakfasts. Helen is a wonderful host and I think we'll definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Front rooms are more expensive but are bigger and have great views of Ilfracombe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarltioMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at the Westwood for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches and it was fantastic. Helen is a wonderful host and looked after us very well. We had other guests / family staying there too and all said it was the best B&B that they have stayed in.

We had the large room at the front of the house, with great views over the town towards the sea.

The house is beautifully decorated and the breakfasts are delicious. But best of all is Helen as your host.

We had an amazing week for our wedding and staying 5 nights at the Westwood was a big part of that.

You would definitely not be disappointed if you choose to stay at the Westwood.

Room Tip: Large room at the front is fantastic but others just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have had a great stay in Westwood. Helen is super friendly. She is a real host who enjoys to make her guest feel comfortable. Our room was the master bedroom (number 1). You will hardly find better rooms. Spacious, great Ilfracombe view en very clean. The breakfast is also very good.

We can really recommend Westwood!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelagia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

OK, finding the place can be a little bit tricky, as it is down a couple of narrow lanes, and finally up a steep drive and hairpin bend, but there is road parking as well.

Once inside, it is like stepping into a family house, where the owner cannot do enough to make your stay more pleasant. Helen is such a wonderful host. She shows you around the lovely house, with guest lounge, breakfast room and most importantly, the beautiful bedroom, which has all the amenities you could want. Large widescreen LCD TV, proper tea and coffee, Ipod docking station, DVD player, on-suite bathroom, large bed with very soft and crisp duvet and sheets.

Breakfast is made with fresh local ingredients, and made to order, none of this help your self.

Overall, I stopped for one night on business, but felt I was stopping with a sister, who made my stay as good as it could be. I will be back, and looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: From what I saw. there is not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draycott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a tricky manouver - with Helen doing the "Air Traffic Control" - up the drive our welcome and the facilitis couldn't have been bettered. Lovely house with lots of quirky furnishings and nic-nacs - and so cool in the hot weather.
Handily situated for the town and the SW Coastal Path. Great breakfast with a 5* choice and even ground coffee and cafetiere on the hostess tray. "We'll be back"

Room Tip: The top room (no 5?) is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My fiancée and I stayed for one night at Westwood on 20/07. I booked relatively late notice and was expecting it to be booked up so was pleased to get a room. Although Westwood looked nice in the reviews, my fiancée was still concerned that it would be in keeping with the plethora of dated b&bs in North Devon - it wasn't!

On arrival, we were greeted by Helen who showed us around the place. What a house! The decor was fantastic with contemporary art & furniture that were right up our street; still retaining a comfy ambiance. This b&b wouldn't look out of place in London or Brighton. Our room was a good size with massive soft bed, tv and tea & coffee (this was cafetiere & Milicano rather than the usual freeze dried Nescafé - very nice touch). The bathroom was big and everything worked well.

After a great nights sleep we went down for breakfast. I had the full English which was just right; just the right size and fresh ingredients. My fiancée had poached eggs which were lovely. The breakfast room has views over ilfracombe and a terrace that you can eat on.

I'd recommend this place to anyone, it's a real gem & we were made to feel very welcome. Also, Helen has great advice on the local area and places to eat and drink. If we'd been staying longer we definitely would have taken up her offer of taking her dogs out for a walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Reading7162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#14 of 53 in Ilfracombe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Property: Westwood
Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing