We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so nice!”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #19 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having had a fantastic time at a wedding at the tunnels we were so pleased to stay at westwood house. Helen was the perfect hostess, it seemed effortless but clearly considered.The room was lovely; we wished we could've stayed for longer...fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_CBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just stayed here for our sons wedding at the Tunnels Beaches. Helen is an amazing host that goes the extra mile to make everyone feel so at home and welcome. She stored the wedding cake safely for us on arrival as it had travelled all the way from Yorkshire and also made tea and biscuits on arrival. The hotel is nicely decorated with lots of extra touches and a menu for a cooked breakfast that spoiled you. The room was spacious, fab views and contained robes, flat screen TV and DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities, soap etc in bathroom.
Helen arranged taxis and gave advice where needed re eating places etc. Couldn't ask for more and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetwetwet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've just returned from our 3rd visit to Westwood and yet again I cannot fault anything about it.
The B&B offers you more than you would ever expect and is more like a boutique hotel. Helen goes completely out of her way to make you feel welcome, greeting us with tea and biscuits :)
The decor is beautiful, warm and to an extremely high standard. (I only wish my house looked like it!)
The breakfast is always wonderful with lots of yummy options to chose from - plus they will always do their best to accommodate if you would prefer something else or have dietary needs.
I cant say enough about Westwood...and we will definitely be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend away and couldn't ask for more from the moment of arrival was welcomed with a cup of tea and biscuits. The location is a nice town with a traditional feel with lots to look at. The room itself was beyond what you would expect from a B and B with a flat screen tv and a DVD player, there's a bookcase of DVD to choose from for a rainy day. Dont overlook this place to stay great service, great room, perfect location and a yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_Goddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked this over the bank holiday weekend having never been before and loved every minute of it. A real boutique feel to the grand Victorian house and luxurious touches like bath robes, fluffy towels and bottled water in the rooms. The breakfast was a real highlight, expertly cooked with high quality ingredients. Best of all was our delightful host, Helen, who was warm and welcoming but also professional and unobtrusive. She gave us excellent restaurant recommendations in the town and sound local advice. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at wonderful Westwood, on our now annual visit. Everything is still excellent, from the rooms and décor to the food, and by no means least to Helen who really makes us feel welcome. It's all about the little touches, like the candles downstairs when you walk in to the tea and biccies to welcome you when you arrive. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ilfracombe now.

Room Tip: Our favourite is Room 1, the large double room with lovely views over Ilfracombe, but other rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hard to put into words how Westwood is.
The building is incredible and a pleasure just to be in, has been refurbished tastefully and to a high standard.
Our room on the top floor is the biggest bedroom I have ever had the pleasure of staying in, views over the town to die for.
Bed massive, power shower great, towels soft, bath robes available. Cafeteria and tea and bottled water in the room.
Helen the host makes you feel like you have known her all your life, very informative walks restaurants bars all at the drop of a hat.
Breakfast in the morning is laid back and a great choice from full English to bagel with smoked salmon, amazing.
Will be back and B&B's should look to the Westwood as a bench mark for how things should be done.
Thanks again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank justcox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing